What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

Image

Ask any Kindy class the question “What do you want to be when you grow up?” and the answers will range from the sublime to the ridiculous. Young children have their whole lives ahead of them and their dreams are as high as they wish them to be. In their innocence, they believe that they can achieve anything. The majority of them have not had to enter the ‘school of hard knocks’. You know that school? The one that takes all the dreams that you had and then throws them in the too hard basket. The same school that you graduated from with lowered self esteem, insecurities and a general belief that everything in life requires hard work and dedication? Now, I’m not saying that hard work and dedication are wrong. Far from it. Nothing great is ever accomplished without those two qualities.  However somewhere along the line (for many of us) our dreams became stuck somewhere in the potholes and cracks of the road we travel called “Life”. Either that or we put them down to ease our load with the intention of coming back later to pick them up – but somehow never got around to it.

When I was twelve and starting out in high school, my dream was to become a journalist. I dreamed of being one of those journalists that wrote moving pieces about humanity and the beautiful people and places in life. I wanted to travel and share my experiences through the written word. Somewhere along the line, my dream was put aside. I never finished high school (thanks to a teacher that should never have been in that profession) because my grades were dropping and I wasn’t achieving what I wanted to achieve. So my mother told me that if I found a good job, then I could leave school. Within two weeks, I had a job in a bank. Over the following years, I  also worked as a housekeeper, ironing lady, receptionist, waitress, serving customers in stores, teacher aide, personal trainer, child care assistant and now I work in the disability sector. I’ve always regretted leaving school. If I had stayed at school, I might have gone on to study journalism…. or teaching. That was another of my choices. Over time, I have also thought about counselling quite a lot but kept talking myself out of it. In hindsight I could say that my face hasn’t been toward the sunshine too much. I’ve let what has happened in my life keep me in the shadows.

Fast forward to the present day and I don’t have too many regrets about my life (okay there are a couple). I never did get back to pick up my dreams that I left laying on the side of the road. I;ve reached this point relatively unscathed although I’ve seen my fair share of tragedy and disappointments. On the flip-side of those disappointments I’ve received so many blessings as well. Having been on this earth almost half a century  I’ve finally…. finally…. finally realised that I am still able to do anything that I want. I can achieve whatever I wish. So what do I want to do?  I want to write…. and I want to help people. Of course, I may fail but I don’t think I will. In answering my question “What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail”?

I would:

  • Run for government
  • Get all the world leaders together and advocate for peace
  • Fly under my own power (bet I’m not the only one who wishes they could fly)
  • Sing without fear of ridicule
  • Drive a semi-trailer
  • Call Heaven and ask to speak to those I’ve lost (to say those final goodbyes that I didn’t get to say before they went)
  • Be a super-mum and grandmother

Well you get the drift. But I know for certain that I am going to write. I don’t think I’ll study journalism but I intend to write a book. And, I’m going to sign up for that counselling course I’ve been checking out!

So tell me, what would you do if you knew you could not fail?

8 thoughts on “What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

  1. I ended up in nursing by default. I didn’t know what else I wanted to do and nursing was secure and paid well.

    After 10 years in the field (and knowing right away that it wasn’t for me), I finally took a big step and left my job to focus on finishing my first novel. I am doing some consulting work to make ends meet and we’ve really tightened our budget to try to make it work. But, I was asking myself the same questions: what would I do if I couldn’t fail? What did it really matter if I failed? The world wouldn’t end.

    It’s both scary and exhilarating at the same time! Some other things I would do if I couldn’t fail:

    -become a ballerina
    -start my own animal rescue
    -learn to sail
    -time travel
    -make homemade bread and then not eat it all in one sitting

    Like

  2. Well done. Writing is so scary isn’t it? But you’re right, the world won’t end if we fail.
    I like the idea of becoming a ballerina. I’d love to dance too but images of the illustration on the cover of “Too Loud Lily” keep coming to mind with that one :). And good luck with not eating all homemade bread in one sitting.

    Like

  3. There is no such thing as failure. Failures are our lessons. However, if I knew I wouldn’t bankrupt our family, which would result in living in a tent–and cause our three children to end their college education too soon. I would open a very cozy yarn shop with big overstuffed furniture where people could come by to visit and knit. Attached to the yarn shop, I would like to have a wine bar and a coffee bar. A kind of hippie hang out where people could come in for some peace from a regular day. But, no smoking.

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

