Wakey, Wakey, Rise and Shine

Image
The Birds are Singing

My mother used to wake me in the mornings singing (somewhat slightly off-key) “Wakey, wakey, rise and shine. The sun is shining and the birds are singing…” as she pulled open my curtains and sometimes threw the dog on my bed. Said dog (called Sunshine ironically enough) would bury herself under the covers and chew my toes until I got out of bed. Isn’t it funny how history repeats itself? I often find myself going into my youngest daughter of a morning (she is soooo not a morning person) and throwing HRH Princess Smudge on the bed and throwing open the curtains and singing “Wakey, wakey rise and shine”. I’m pretty sure that Miss almost-twelve-but-going-on-twenty-five feels the same way about this morning ritual as I did. I used to roll my eyes behind my mothers back. I can almost feel my daughter’s eye roll as I pull open the curtains. I’ll have the last laugh when she wakes her children doing the same thing.

I was going somewhere with this. That’s right! Sometimes I find mornings difficult (and I AM a morning person lol). I want to stay in bed and just pull the covers up and block out the world. It’s much easier that way. But I keep remembering my mother and her little ditty. I’ve blogged before about my morning routine watching the birds (that’s the swallows in the photo above). If I stay in bed, I miss the birds as the day has become too warm for them to flit about and they hide themselves in the trees until it is cooler. I also miss so much beauty. Sleeping and dreaming about beauty is so not the same as experiencing it for myself. I love the cool morning air and the sound of birdsong. Right now my garden has some beautiful flowers in it. I love staring at the explosion of colour and marvelling at the beauty there also. I’ve been meaning to take my camera out in the afternoon and get some photos of my flowers. I love photographing flowers. (Note to self: You finish work early this afternoon so dust off the camera).

I guess the whole point of this post is to remind myself that regardless of how ‘bleh’ my day is, there is always beauty around me to find. And love. Don’t forget love. Even HRH Princess Smudge loves me in her own way. šŸ™‚ Have a beautiful day everyone!

2 thoughts on “Wakey, Wakey, Rise and Shine

  1. Yes, mornings are fabulous. They offer experiences that no other time of day could even compare to. As for “wakey, wakey”, my Mom always woke me up the same way, minus the dog. Now, I find myself doing the same morning ritual with my son and sometimes even my husband. They probably roll their eyes too. I know I used to. šŸ™‚

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

