Making Daisy Chains

Image

I was looking through my photos again this morning and thinking just how far behind I am in putting together our family scrapbooks when I came across this photo. It is a photo of my niece teaching my little girl how to make daisy chains. The girls were so engrossed in what they were doing, that they didn’t mind me hanging around with a camera and snapping photos. I had actually forgotten about this until I found the photo. (Thank goodness for my camera assisting my memory).

So I got to thinking about daisy chains. Daisies are a beautiful flower (one of my favourites). I love that when I look at them I feel optimistic, happy and bright. Daisies bloom in full sun and then close at night when the climate isn’t suited to their sunny nature. (Wise flowers really. Bloom in the light and shut out the dark. That could be a whole other blog post). Daisies (like any other flower) are a creation of beauty.

So the girls were taking flower after flower and joining them together with the intent of putting them around their necks and wearing them. What a great concept for life! Do you see where I am going with this?

We take moments of beauty in our days and string them together and wear them in our hearts. Think of the moments of beauty (and love) we might see and experience each day. In mine there is time spent with those I love, watching the birds in my garden, smelling the flowers, compliments received, quiet times enjoyed, music played…. and the list goes on. If I take each of these things and mentally string them together, they provide a necklace of beauty and love in my heart and life.

When you find beauty and love in your life, it radiates to others. A domino effect. So today, I am going to make a daisy chain. Who will join me?

11 thoughts on “Making Daisy Chains

  1. Lovely post. My Dean Road friends and I used to make chains from Chive flowers. Nothing like the smell of onion in your hair. But the lavender flowers did look pretty.
    I’m making a point of practicing your daisy-chain idea. So easy to overlook the little moments.

    Like

    1. My lavender has just finished flowering. I’m going to have to wait until next Spring to try a lavender chain. 😦
      Keep looking for the little moments because they are so important.
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. I used to love making daisy chains as a kid. At home we used daisies, at school we used the clover flowers (both pretty in their own way). Just the other week I taught some girls how to make the clover chains while I wandered around the school playground on duty. Before the end of lunch girls and boys were walking around with chains adorning heir heads, necks , arms (depending on their patience to let the chain grow and the agility of their fingers). Simply pleasure , a peaceful playtime and a subtle lesson in life 🙂

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

