What if?

Image

Mr Aewl over at Aewl’s Abode asked the question, what if you could have one day over again? What is the happiest day of your life? I have so many happy days. Wedding days of both of my children, births of babies, births of grandchildren and holding them for the first time ever, the first time I ever laid eyes on the Garden Gnome…. There are many. So I decided to go through my photos to find something to jog my memory of a day I would like to live over and I found this photo of us. It is my favourite. We have had many taken since then but they are posed. This is the only candid photo taken of us in our first few months together. (We both look so different now). We’re both a little more rounded and greyer than back then πŸ™‚

So why would I like to have this day over again? Because it was a day spent with friends and each other in a setting we both love. We were at Flanagan’s Reserve which is a camping area on the banks of the Logan River (it’s right near it’s beginnings so it is more of a creek). Sitting on rocks, listening to the sound of the breeze in the gum trees and the water rushing over rocks and talking. We were younger (not terribly young as we were both in our early 30’s) and we were in the first throes of love when everything is beautiful. My view of the world was through rose coloured glasses and everything was vibrant and alive, funny and wonderful. Although our love has grown stronger and matured over the years, I remember looking at him and seeing the most wonderful person in the world. I still look at him this way and my heart still skips a beat when I hear his voice on the end of the telephone but the butterflies did back flips in my stomach back then. It was all so new. This man was healing the scars left by my ex. He believed in me and saw me as beautiful. It was a headrush to feel completely wanted and loved for who I was and not who he thought I should be. I glowed.

Why do I want to live this day over again? Because it was 17 years ago and I’d love to go back and have another 17 years on top of the many years we have still to live. Because we were young, in love and life had so much promise. πŸ™‚ Because every day I spend with this man is wonderful. πŸ™‚ Is it greedy to want more?

Β Have a blessed day.

26 thoughts on “What if?

  1. Well my darling girl was it really 17 years ago? seems like yesterday that every second word that you said was his name .a mothers greatest joy is to see her children happy and the “garden gnome “as you refer it him as is one of the good men in the world.

    Like

    1. No. I didn’t really talk about him that much did I? Yeh, I know I did but as you so rightly pointed out, he is one of the good men. I’m so blessed to have him in my life.

      Like

  2. The look on your face says even more about the depth of feeling you had then, than the beautiful words you have written. Remember quality is the important part. To have found each other is so wonderful πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. A very beautiful story, and extremely thought provoking. I have not given thoughts to any good days, just all the bad ones. Time to see if I can drudge up some good ones….other than the obvious, wedding, births of children, etc.

    Like

  4. Your love for him is such a beautiful thing. I love reading stories like this. That is the way love is supposed to be and I’m so glad that you found the love of your life.

    Like

    1. Thank you. He’s such an understanding man and as my Mum said in the comment above “He’s one of the good ones”. πŸ™‚ (Although I’m sure she just said that so he’ll go back to do more work in her garden) lol

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

