Saturday Morning Ramblings

ImageGood morning world. It is Saturday. Have I ever mentioned just how much I love Saturdays? There is something special about them. Saturday mornings are full of promise. There is the knowledge that you don’t have to go to work (well not if you work a regular Monday – Friday job) and your mind is in a relaxed state. As I sit here at my computer, the fresh morning air is caressing my face through the open window beside me. I am being serenaded by the sounds of running water in the water feature and young Rainbow Lorikeets sqwarking in the Grevillea bush. The sky is showing brilliant blue through the lace curtains and all is peaceful in my world. The Tween and the Garden Gnome are still sleeping. The Diva has abandoned me to find somewhere comfortable to curl up and I am breathing! That is always a blessing! 🙂 I am a little ‘dull-headed’ due to the consumption of a couple of extra glasses of wine at my work Christmas party last night. I still remember everything about the night but I definitely became more relaxed as the night went on. I had a wonderful conversation with an ex-colleague that has provided me with some fodder for future blog posts. And I told a few people that I loved them. I think it was at this point that the Tween called her father to come and get us. 🙂

So this morning I intended to catch up on the past two days of posts from my fellow bloggers. I sat at my computer with the best of intentions. However I have decided to do some more work on my quilt and finish putting all of my Christmas decorations out instead. It’s not that I don’t love you all (because I do and I learn so much from what you write), however I have almost 200 posts to work through and I find it a little overwhelming right now. Whilst writing this post, I have been constantly distracted by thoughts. I have gone and re-read the opening chapter of the book I am writing and the book proposal I have submitted to the publisher. This has provided me with food for thought and fodder for upcoming blog posts. I need some time to plan these in my head and then write them. Since, I am feeling overwhelmed, I think doing something distracting such as piecing fabric together or putting my Christmas display together would be beneficial.

I know I seem so calm at times but right now I’m not feeling it. I don’t understand where this feeling of being overwhelmed has come from. I am happy. I am blessed. I think my mind just likes playing games. I really should bring it to heel and teach it who’s boss. But instead I come to my blog and write. Because when I write, it helps me make sense of all that is going on.

Well my stomach is growling so I guess that it is a sign to step away from the computer. 🙂 I’ll be back later this afternoon more than likely. And I promise to take photos of my quilt in progress…

Have a blessed day. And thanks for allowing me to ramble.

14 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Ramblings

  1. OK. I’ll confess, I’m jealous of the weather as I am warm and cozy inside — no windows open — and the weather outside is way below zero. I did go out to ship off some Christmas presents to be safe until I join them at my daughter’s in Williamsburg, VA, in time for Christmas day. It is still slippery out there, but I was good — took the time to work out at Curves, but got home in time to see a client.

    I wish you well with your book proposal.

    Like

    1. Mona, I have only ever seen snow twice in my life. The last time was only a few months ago when my son and daughter-in-law took us to a ski resort in the Victorian alps. I thought it was beautiful but hated the slush.
      Well done on making the time to work out. 🙂
      Thanks for your well wishes on the proposal.

      Like

    1. Didn’t get to the quilt today Susan. I slept and did a little Christmas shopping. Then I finished putting our Christmas decorations out.
      Tomorrow is another day though 🙂

      Like

  2. Let’s see … why might you feel overwhelmed? A book proposal, a quilt, 200 blog posts to read, Christmas decorations, family, work … oh and writing a blog! 🙂
    I’m glad you have your Saturday mornings. Your description of the open window, the breeze, the birds, the water … keep giving yourself those moments so you can manage all the other things on your plate.

    Like

  3. I know exactly what you mean by feeling overwhelmed by something that looks so simple. Although… I actually don’t call it being overwhelmed. I call it ‘having ants in the pants’. Sitting still is not an option. All that will do is push me over the edge to feeling irritable. Getting up and doing – doing anything – is the only thing that will get rid of this uncomfortable feeling.

    Be sure to show off your quilt to us once you have it done. 😉

    Like

    1. The biggest issue I have when I am overwhelmed and feeling depressed is wanting to sleep. I know it is hard, but I have to force myself to do other things. Although yesterday I did go and sleep again. But in my defense I also have a sore throat and think I am coming down with something. 😦
      The quilt is an ongoing process. Not sure it will be finished before Christmas though.

      Like

  4. I’m still working on my zen-like Christmas head. So far, it’s working. Tree is up. Oh, and I semi decorated the fireplace mantle. I bought some candy canes too—ate almost every one of them. Do I care if no further decorations are up? No. My mom and my daughter are here – that’s all I care about at the moment. After last Christmas’ debacle when I was – well, I’m just going to say it was the worst, and my depression and anxiety was way out of control. Relax, do what you feel you can do, and don’t worry about what you can’t. It will always be there next year. 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh April. I know where you are coming from. The Garden Gnome and I spoke about this yesterday because he is starting to stress over things as well. He is of the opinion that life would be much simpler if we didn’t buy Christmas presents for anyone except the children. I disagree. However we are working together on this and he at least knows where I am right now with things.
      I laughed out loud when I read you ate all the candy canes. That is hilarious! The problem in our home is when we put candy canes on the tree the ants get them. lol

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

