Don’t hide your talents

Image

This afternoon I had a self evaluation and discussion with one of my managers. After working through each section of my position description and discussing areas of improvement, she asked the question “What talents do you have that would be of benefit to the organisation”? I thought about this before replying “I like to create”. Recently I spent three days working on our AGM report and updating it. I started from scratch and created the whole brochure ready for printing. It was hard work and I loved every minute of it. I would love to do more work of this kind. However, it’s not the first time I have created. I taught myself how to use photoshop and create backgrounds and elements for use in digital scrapbooking. I sold my creations in online stores. I submitted some of my work to a traditional scrapbooking paper and stamp manufacturer who turned some of it into real paper and wooden stamps. I remember my joy the first time I walked into a store and saw my paper on the racks for sale. I didn’t get rich from this. I didn’t even make enough to pay for a decent dinner. However, I gained immense satisfaction from my achievements. Creating things digitally is something I am good at.Β  I created the graphic above when the Tween was younger. I have this one printed and framed. It used to hang on my wall but it has been taken down for a spell but it will be back up there soon enough.

The point of this post is that we all have talents. Many of us hide them away whilst we go about our every day lives and jobs. We suffer through the days thinking that this is all there is to life and we can’t do what we enjoy and put food on the table at the same time. But it doesn’t have to be that way. I’m not saying to quit your job and start selling your art. (You can if you want though). What I am saying is to use your talents each day. If you can earn your living doing what you love then that is wonderful. If you can’t then it shouldn’t stop you from doing what you are talented in, in your spare time.

What is your talent? Is it singing? Dancing? Adding up columns of numbers in your head? Maybe like me, it is about being creative in some way. Whatever it is, nurture it. Don’t hide it.

Have a beautiful day πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Don’t hide your talents

  1. LOVE this post. It is so true. Maybe we need to hold onto that day job, but I also believe it is so important to allow ourselves to let what we are good at enjoy doing come forth. I love your banner graphic- the minute I saw it I wondered how you got it- thank you for saying it’s yours! It took me until I was into my late 30’s to realize exactly what you wrote today- thanks for sharing so beautifully.

    Like

    1. You’re very welcome. I made my banner graphic and the background of my blog. The graphic with the ‘ad’ is one that I also made.
      It is so important to be happy in doing something you love. I’m glad you finally found that out. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I like to think I write creatively. My other claim to fame is photoshopping myself into places from planking on the Telstra tower wall in Canberra to Kate and Will’s wedding and as Kochie’s bride. Now if only I used these talents for good ha ha

    Like

    1. Seriously? Kochie’s bride?? Now George Clooney I could understand but David Koch I just don’t get.
      You keep on planking there. Did you plank at the wedding? I’d love to see that πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. I love your post! You are always such an inspiration to me. You want to know what my talent is? Procrastination. Yes, I’ve perfected quite the skill in this area, and I’m getting more and more proficient. πŸ˜€

    Seriously, it is knitting—it is a very cathartic hobby, but I’m thinking is is the OCD, and the counting is what soothes me. Meh, whatever, I love it, and it makes me calm.

    Like

    1. Procrastination works too…. What sort of career could you make from that? πŸ˜‰
      But knitting is wonderful. Whether it is because it soothes your OCD or you just love it for what it is, it sounds great. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. You did a great job on that graphic. You can definitely make a living with digital art, especially these days. I don’t have the creative genes that you do, but if I had to choose a talent it would be the ability to care for and love the elderly. There is a place directly behind my house that I’m planning to ask to volunteer at soon. Other than that, I’ve played piano since I was a small child and as the keyboard sits in front of me each day, I can almost hear it calling out to me to start playing again.

    Like

    1. What a wonderful talent to have. There should be more people in the world like you.
      I learned to play the piano when I was a child but have lost a lot of this skill over the years. I finally have my grandmother’s piano (the one I learned on) in my home. Unfortunately, I don’t sit and play as often as I should. When I play I truly enjoy it.

      Like

  5. I organize activities and events and meetings and getting groups to complete work. I am not by nature good at it as far as I know. Its just that I like to get things done and I am accustomed to keeping myself focused since I was an ADD kid before there was ADD. I sort of outgrew it we might say.
    I like to make work professional looking – itgs probably more of an obsession than a talent.

    Nice posting on this; thanks.
    ~ Eric

    Like

  6. I read your post and felt as if it is written by me.I felt the same joy and happiness in doing what my talent is. Further it is good to find people who work on their talent – one of them is you. regards

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

