Being Grateful

ImageYesterday, I received some bad news. I had been hoping, longing and building myself up for the delivery of good news. News that would fulfill my dreams and show me that I was on the right path. News that would change my life as I know it. I waited by the phone and checked my email constantly. The Tween (my biggest cheerleader) was messaging me and asking if I had heard anything yet. I ate lunch with my phone beside me, willing it to ring. As the hours moved on I figured that the phone call wasn’t going to come so I kept checking my email. Then the email arrived that sent my dreams into a tailspin. I did not win. I wasn’t even a runner up. My heart and mind began their bickering with my mind acting superior by hurling taunts of “I told you so”. My heart closed itself off to hide the fact that it was breaking. My mind began telling my heart to face reality and stop dreaming. I continued the rest of my afternoon at work on autopilot before walking in the door that afternoon and going straight to my bedroom to lay down. If I napped, my heart and mind would quieten and silence might ensue. It did for a short while and then I emerged from my bedroom and into the arms of my Tween who was waiting for me. She just held me. And I was blessed.

With a full night’s sleep under my belt I can now analyse objectively. I can develop my gratitude. Although it is difficult to find reasons for gratitude amongst the pain of broken dreams right now, I know they are there. I still hold fast to my dreams, (take that mind!) I just need to find a different path in order to achieve them. The path may need to be broken down into stepping stones but I will persevere. So what can I find to be grateful about? Through the processes of this competition I have learned valuable skills. Skills that can be expanded upon and honed. I am grateful for learning new things. I am grateful for the support team I have in my home – the Garden Gnome and the Tween. I am grateful that each day is a new opportunity for trying new things.

I write often about gratitude and its importance in healing. Although I have learned this through the process of applying it in my life previously, every so often a speed bump comes along that tests my theories. Physician heal thyself. I am and it is working.

I am grateful for speed bumps. Without speed bumps plain sailing would become so boring!

Have a blessed day. πŸ™‚

36 thoughts on “Being Grateful

  1. Dreams don’t come easy but if they did we would never enjoy them as much . It’s so upsetting to be so close as to almost reach your dream but have it float a little out of reach I know. But with your positive attitude you will achieve it just in a different time frame. Hold on to the dream xx

    Like

  2. Never give up on your dreams but sometimes they do take longer than we hope to get there or go in a completely different direction. the key is, NEVER GIVE UP!

    Hugs and here’s to some other really GOOD news coming your way, this week, G

    Like

  3. What a bummer. Sometimes we can take a rejection so personally. Was it writing or something else? Its okay to take time to be upset, but do not ever doubt yourself. Believe and it will happen. I hope you’re okay today.

    Like

      1. Writing is so subjective. I have yet to have the courage to even submit something even though I’d love to be published. We have fragile egos. I think you were brave to try and I also think what one likes another doesn’t.

        Like

  4. You know what I like about setbacks? It makes the brain go into overdrive creating new ways to accomplish your goal. Who knows—another direction may lead you to your dream, or you may unexpectedly find something far more rewarding, that you never expected. If we stop trying, we won’t reach our goals, that’s for sure. You can do it!

    And I’m not going to say I’m sorry, because setbacks or mistakes are lessons. Learn from this and build upon it.

    Like

  5. In the passion and adrenaline filled spirit of the moment, it is quite often very difficult to appreciate those pesky speed bumps. However, when we are given the time and take advantage of the opportunity to reflect upon those obstacles in our way, we often find invaluable nuggets of wisdom that make the next speed bump either avoidable or even more useful than the last πŸ˜‰ Thank you for sharing and best wishes for smoother roads ahead πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I don’t know if this will ring true to you but God has a plan. Have faith that you are on the right path but sometimes we just can’t see where He’s leading us. I also recently had a dream broken. It’s hard. But we cannot change the past, only work toward the future. Hugs.

    Like

  7. I’ve been right where you are. Or should I say “write” where you are? Or should I say where you were, because you have already moved on?! Rejection day smarts, no matter how many times it happens. I’ve been writing 13 years now and to tell you the truth at some point being published stopped being the dream. The dream turned into just writing, learning to write better, and talking to other writers about writing, and reading and marveling at what others have created with fiction. My first sale gave me an intense high that lasted about three days! Two days longer than the low of a rejection. But writing gives me joy that goes on and on and on, and all I have to do to get it, is to write.

    Anyway, I didn’t know you write. So there’s a whole new thing we connect on. And yes, that was me, a writer, ending a sentence with a weak little preposition. *wink*

    Suz, I’m nominating you for the Sunshine Award. Thank you for being sunshine in my life.

    Nia

    Like

    1. Nia, thank you so much for your encouragement. Although I am not writing fiction at this time but a self help book on overcoming the lows in life, the processes are all the same. I am going to look at re-designing the layout and changing things around a bit. To get the book published through an established publisher, I am going to have to find an agent. To self publish I am going to have to find the money. I might look at other avenues and see how I go.
      Thank you for the award Nia. You are so sweet to say that. I will add it to my next awards day πŸ˜‰

      Like

  8. Don’t let yourself be defeated. A speed bump is just that – a bump. A bump in the road may slow you down but once you’re over it, it’s behind you. You learn from it, change what needs to be changed and continue on. “A quitter never wins and a winner never quits.” You’re a winner! Also, your Tween is so precious. What she did for you was heartwarming.

    Like

    1. Yeh, I was so touched by that. She had been messaging me all day and I messaged her and told her. Her response was “Oh. Don’t give up”.
      Then when she walked toward me later and held out her arms I was nearly a blubbering mess. She can be precocious oops precious πŸ˜‰
      I know what you’re saying about the speed bumps. But do you know how much I hate speed bumps?? There is this one street on the way to my First Born’s house…. lol

      Like

  9. I love it when my friend says, “This too shall pass.” She has loads of problems to vocalize and I hardly say anything when she tells me all the horrible details. Its usually about her former boyfriend or about one of her daughters acting up.
    [yeah I actually have a female friend]
    After she says “This too shall pass,” I usually say – “Oh, ok, let’s change the subject then.” or “Are you over it yet?” or “Yeah — it wasn’t time.” or “What a jerk – you ought to clunk him/her one.” or something else other than “This too shall pass.” and she always say, “You don’t even care” or something similar and I say “You did – isn’t that enough for what isn’t yours to control.” She realizes I knew this at the first moment — because that’s really why she tells me this stuff.
    Then I can hold her against my shoulder while she has a little cry. She isn’t done till the tears flow. Then we agree to pray for God’s Will and then we can usually leave it alone because its usually passed by then.
    Hugs.
    ~ Eric

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

