Boxing Day Musings

Some of you may understand what I mean by Boxing Day. It is the day following Christmas and it is also a holiday. There are many theories as to how Boxing Day came about. I believe it had to do with distributing the contents of the poor boxes in churches the day after Christmas to those who needed it. My favourite theory was the one I heard from my six year old granddaughter yesterday. She believes that Boxing Day is the day that all of the Christmas decorations are packed up and put into boxes ready to come out next year. In the past, my brothers and I have found other reasons for the name and most involved boxing gloves. πŸ™‚

Whatever the meaning of the day, I have spent the day relaxing. I have napped when I wanted to and caught up on almost a week’s worth of blog posts from others. I have found new blogs to follow and I have travelled the world without leaving my hot, stuffy craft/computer room. I have shared joys and sorrows with you all. I have experienced Christmas miracles and Christmas traditions. I have enjoyed poetry and fiction. I have seen kindness in action and been inspired by wonderful photography. I feel that this was a day well spent. I ask myself why I have so many emails delivered to my inbox rather than use the reader all the time. I think the reason is that an email can sit in my inbox for weeks until I catch up whereas the reader moves so quickly. I don’t like missing out on what any of you have written. So if any of you have received likes and comments up to a week after your post, you know why. πŸ™‚

As we draw to the close of a year, I find myself reflecting on achievements of the past year. One of those is the healing that has taken place in the Garden Gnome. It has been a hard year but one in which we have grown so much closer and for that I am grateful. I am beginning to look toward what it is that I wish to achieve in the coming year in order to create my vision board. My thoughts are becoming more introspective because of this as I ask myself the questions that I really want to find answers to over the coming months.

I know I want to get back to my book and re-working it. I want to reach out and help others. I need to find ways in which to do this. I want to do so many things……

So what do you hope to do in the coming year? Do you have plans for your vision board? I really would like to know.

I do know one thing that I need to sort out pretty quickly though. I still don’t have a name for my canary. Any suggestions?

24 thoughts on “Boxing Day Musings

  1. Sounds like a day well spent to me πŸ˜€
    I am leaning to the email thingy myself really – finding it much less pressured. I still miss stuff though. SOme parts of blogging are on the spot fresh happenings – but hey – only so much we can do and be πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. I realise that some of that stuff is as it happens but due to differing time zones etc I’ve learned that you can’t always be johnny on the spot. πŸ˜‰
      Yes, only so much we can do and only so much time to do it in.

      Like

  2. What perfect day! You piqued my curiosity about the origins of the name, Wikipedia says Boxing Day is traditionally the day following Christmas Day, when servants and tradesmen would receive gifts, known as a “Christmas box”, from their bosses or employers. It officially began in England in the middle of the 19 century under the rule of Queen Victoria.(Hope you don’t mind my follow up!) πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. What a nice relaxing day that sounds like. I like your granddaughter’s theory too. Upon waking this morning, that is the first thing I thought to do today. I want the clutter gone, but my husband enjoys having the tree and lights up until after the new year. So, they’ll stay up for one more week. I haven’t started on my vision board yet, but haven’t forgotten about it.

    Like

  4. I usually do the email read too. It’s easier having it there and easy to find for me. I spent Boxing Day cleaning up the clutter and today I plan on doing very little other than read.im curbing the eating today. I did my fair share over the last 2 days. I bought my Christmas dress and it was size 16. After wearing size 22 at the start of the year ( and snugly lol) I think 2 days of overindulge is enough. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Well done you on dropping all those dress sizes! You should be so proud of yourself. :mrgreen:
      I’ve dropped one size but I’m not game to drop my pant/skirt sizes just yet (still a smidge too tight). I’ve put on weight over the past week though so I need to get back to my clean eating soon.

      Like

      1. I think its a good break to indulge over Christmas then get back to the clean eating. That way, in my opinion it, becomes a lifestyle attainable rather than a ‘diet’ that’s a false way of living πŸ™‚

        Like

        1. That’s the way I feel about it. I am currently attempting to rid my home of the multitudes of chocolates and other things (lollies are my downfall) and then get back to the good stuff. No bread, not white stuff, no processed foods etc. Shame things like biscuits and fruit mince pies have so much white stuff in them πŸ˜‰

          Like

  5. Vision Board:

    1. Total world domination
    2. Destroy the Matriarchy
    3. Become the greatest villain the world has ever known
    4. Not forget to take the garbage out and hear about it yet again
    5. Reduce the “arctic survival kit” (i.e., fat stores)
    6. Remember Mum’s birthday without being reminded
    7. …

    }:-)>

    Like

    1. Navigator, this is a great list. I like how you’re getting all the hard ones out of the way first. However, I do have to agree with suzjones. If you don’t put the others first (primarily #4 and #6), you may not make it to #1.

      Like

  6. A lovely day! It is almost 4PM in my time zone, and I am still in my PJs and catching up on my blog reading. I would call that the outward sign of a successful day! Best wishes to you for the New Year!

    Like

    1. Oh yay! Wearing pjs in cold weather is terrific. Was too hot to stay in my nightie all day yesterday. Was back to work today but managed to get stuff finished early so didn’t have to work my full hours. πŸ™‚
      Best wishes to you also. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. It’s a male April. Still thinking of names. Russell from the Worlds Top 10 blog suggested ‘Snack’ because the Diva still has murderous intent in her eyes when she spots him.

      Like

      1. That’s a good one. Or Morsel— or you could go the Social Media way and call him Twitter. How about Fred? No reason, just the first name that popped in my head. πŸ˜€

        Like

        1. He’s such a dainty little thing. I like Twitter. Sounds cool. I was thinking of Lucia (for Luciano Pavarotti) but the jury is still out on that one. When I stand by his cage and whistle and make noises he cocks his head and listens to me.

          Like

          1. How about Carlos, Sebastien, Urs, or David—-the Il Divo men. I forgot that canaries sing. We had two when I was a kid. One of them sang its little heart out. It’s tough when you have others to veto your name choice. πŸ™‚

            Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

