Fellow Blogger – Len from Myownheart.me

Image

Today the spotlight is on Len from Myownheart.me. I’ve followed Len’s blog for some time and find she writes beautiful poetry and short stories based upon her faith and the things occurring in her life or what she observes in the lives of others. As a quilter, I enjoyed this poem of Len’s Quilt of Life and chuckled at this version of A Night Before Christmas that Len sourced from the web somewhere. Len’s short stories generally have a surprise ending. Perhaps my favourite is the one of the lady visiting her son on death row. Len’s short stories can be found on her blog here.

Hello Len. It’s so nice to have you drop by here to talk about blogging. Most of us have a reason that we began blogging. What drew you to blogging?

I have always enjoyed writing yet got away from it when life as an adult began. I became the mother to three beautiful daughters, divorced attended satellite campus of Kansas State University majoring in Social Work. I was not able to finish but eventually became a manager for Walmart in the Metro Kansas City area. I have held many positions in my years and learned more than I ever wanted to know about people which has helped with my blogging.

I’ve found it common amongst bloggers that they have always enjoyed writing. Blogging is the perfect outlet for this. How long have you been blogging?

 I believe it was two or three months after my daughter was killed so April or May of 2011, so not quite three years.

That is tragic. I’m sorry to hear that. So does your blog have a particular theme?

I began blogging to release pent up anger and grief, but have since wrote poetry of faith and short stories which I enjoy so much and hope others do as well.

I know I do although I don’t visit as often as I would like.
As you said, you began blogging to release pent up anger and grief. Have you gained anything from blogging?

Aside from the many, many supportive friends, I have learned and I am learning to be a better writer,
that people can and do connect from all across our large world and have a great commonality.

It’s true that the WordPress community becomes like a family and that is great. Has blogging assisted you with challenges in your life?

  I have experienced so much of the darkness of life, yet the greatest was the loss of my oldest daughter three years ago in February. That said I could not have survived had not a wise, friend Susie Clevenger, encouraged me to write of my grief and pain by blogging.

I have learned from personal experience that writing things out is a great healing tool. So how often do you blog?

I try to maintain no schedule.  Some days I blog several times a day but generally try to post at least once a week.

And where do you find the inspiration for your posts?

Oh, I am inspired by the wonderful world we live in, nature, music,  my life and life  in general.

I don’t think you are alone in finding your inspiration in these places. 🙂 Do you have a particular quote or mantra that you believe fits your life?

I have this on my blog as a daily reminder: In a conflict between the heart and the brain follow your heart. ~ Swami Vivekanandu

I like that a lot Len. It’s a quote that I haven’t heard. Onto my next question for you. What draws you to other blogs?

I love people and have a giving, nurturing tendency; so I am drawn to those struggling with life, to teach and to learn. Yet I am drawn to those that are upbeat and funny and those that I can learn from. I suppose I am simply drawn to people and what they blog about.

Thank you so much Len for being so open with us. Is there anything else that you’d like to share?

I would like to thank you so very much for the opportunity to share information about myself and my blogs.

You are so very, very welcome 🙂 It’s a pleasure getting to know you better.

6 thoughts on “Fellow Blogger – Len from Myownheart.me

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

