Fellow Blogger – The Empathy Queen

ImageTonight we meet The Empathy Queen. I have followed her blog since I began blogging as much of what she writes aligns with my thoughts and feelings. EQ writes on her About page that she sees much and feels even more. She hopes to find a reason to her being here and in doing so shares her inspiration and empathy with others around her. The Empathy Queen has been featured on Freshly Pressed (my congratulations). I thoroughly enjoyed her post on New Year’s Resolutions and her encouragement to us all to be better in 2014. Take a look at her post “Have a Very Encouraging New Year” and be inspired.

Hi EQ. Thanks for joining me on the couch this evening. I am so very pleased to have the opportunity of meeting and chatting with you. Can I ask what drew you to blogging?

I hesitated for a very long time.  The concerns about things on the internet never going away and coming back to bite you definitely bothered me.  I was encouraged to write by a family member, just for myself, for comfort and self-expression.  I never had any intentions or desire to become any kind of online personality like some.

I’m so pleased you were encouraged to begin the blog and express yourself. I’m sure many lives have been touched by your words. How long have you actually been blogging?

I began blogging in January 2013.

That would make it a year now that you have been blogging. Happy anniversary! Does your blog have a particular theme that you write about?

There have been some very major life changes I have gone through this past year.  I did not try to direct my posts to only one thing, but I see the nature of it is similar to how I try to help others in my work and in general.  Obviously, empathy and emotional intelligence is a big theme in my life, work,and blog.

I’m sorry to hear about the major changes in your life. I understand that your posts are varied but I must state that every post I have read has been full of compassion and understanding. 🙂 I know I have gained from reading but have you gained anything yourself from blogging?

Readers! Who knew!? It is very flattering needless to say.

It is certainly satisfying (and yes flattering) to gain readers on your blog. You mentioned before that you had had some major life changes in the past twelve months – has blogging assisted you in dealing with these challenges?

 I look back at the categories I used in the early times of my blogging experience and don’t feel that I only need to approach that dark side of life.  My mother and grandmother both passed away this year and watching the ravages to their bodies and their passing was so painful and so solitary. I thought that I was grieving along the way and then found out what grief felt like all over again.  Blogging helped me to find people who genuinely cared and understood from their own experiences.

I am so very sorry to hear that. I know how difficult dealing with grief can be and like you I have found others out there who genuinely care and understand. It helps to know that we are not alone. How often do you take the opportunity to blog?

When I feel like it. Sometimes I try to just share a thoughtful quote or photo for “easy consumption” in a very busy world full of so many, many, many messages.

Sometimes the simple things like quotes can be the most powerful. 🙂 Where do you find the inspiration for your posts?

Sometimes there is pain or a conversation I have had with someone else who is struggling. For better or worse, there is a part of me that is an educator and very empathetic. I have always wanted people to know that they had someone to call in the middle of the night so that they never felt completely alone.  It frustrates me how careless and hurtful some can be with others’ emotional, mental, physical, and psychological issues.

I too understand that frustration. I’m pleased that you don’t like people to feel alone. In your life, do you have a particular quote or mantra that you believe is perfect for you?

I have many quotes that appeal to me!
Also I feel that idealistic sense of empathy and seeing peoples’ feelings and experiences that they think no one else can understand.  The hard part is that 98% of people don’t know what I mean and I cannot understand how they can be so clueless!
The other quote that I used in my college yearbook and on my About page is definitely an indication of a life mantra, if you will.

“To laugh often and much;

To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children;

To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends;

To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others;

To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Additionally, Certainly the lyrics from The Beatles’ “In My Life”:

There are places I remember
All my life, though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone and some remain…….

All these places had their moments
With lovers and friends
I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life I’ve loved them all…….

Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them

Wow! They are terrific. I have to ask –  What draws you to other blogs?

I love intelligent writing, humor, life experience, healing spiritually and psychologically, honesty and vulnerability, Life Experiences that I can identify with and that let my laugh. There is some amazing photography throughout WordPress that is so creative and artistic.  I don’t read the posts about heavy swearing, drugs and sex.  But Classic Rock is always appreciated!

Thank you once again for spending time this evening with me on the couch. Do you have anything else that you’d like to share?

I am so flattered that people have found comfort in what I have to say or have found themselves nodding and saying “YES! Exactly!”  It is terrific to attract the people who you would want to be your friends and who understand what you are saying in surroundings where people don’t often try to make sincere connections.  I don’t need superficial, there is too much of that already. Let’s try a little tenderness.

Fantastic parting words! Many thanks to the Empathy Queen for sharing with us this evening.

20 thoughts on “Fellow Blogger – The Empathy Queen

  1. What a lovely sounding lady – I have gone and read the new years post – so so filled with sweetness and depth. ANd of course – I was very muched driven to follow. Thank you to you both for all your loveliness.

    Like

  2. Thank you Suz for sharing this wonderful interview with Empathy Queen, I am heading over to her blog right now. I enjoyed both your questions and her replies very much.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much Sue!!!! You have done a bang up job with your interviews to day. I am flattered by the comments and hope that I can be helpful, hopeful, or both. I think time alone can and is very therapeutic; I need it more for my equilibrium as I get older. But choosing to be alone and feeling alone (and its subsequent emotions) are two very different things. I did not know that people would be so supportive and the validation is delightful! :-))

    Like

    1. Most definitely. Being alone by choice is a good thing, being alienated and alone is entirely different.
      I enjoyed putting this post together. I trust that the benefits of it will last for some time. 🙂

      Like

  4. Well, well. Where to begin?

    It’s unfortunate that you like humour, EQ, as I am renown for being straight-laced and stoic. Just try and crack this iron face of mine. Can’t be done. }:-|> . See? Just ask Sue.

    In terms of classic rock, do you own… a turntable? Not that I am smiling at the prospect. No, ma’am. Not me. Wouldn’t dream of it. Nosiree Bob. With the vinyl disks that spin ’round and ’round at 33 1/3 rpm? Heaven forbid that you should have an amplifier with vacuum tubes (valves) in it.

    Actually, you seem like a wonderful person. Thanks for this—it was nice meeting you.

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

