Fellow Blogger – Laura Macky

ImageJoining me on the couch this evening is one of our fellow bloggers – Laura Macky. Laura has both a blog and a website where you can check out her wonderful photography. Laura not only has a fine eye for beauty in her photography, she also has an awesome sense of humour. She recently honoured me with the LAZY Not Freshly Pressed Award. Please take the time to read her post and the comments. They are too funny. I so enjoy seeing the world through the lens of Laura’s camera and this shot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge is breathtaking. A browse through Laura’s blog is well worth the time if you like beautiful images.

Welcome to my little corner of the world this evening Laura. I’d love to know what drew you to blogging?

I started blogging right before I had a knee replacement scheduled on December 11, 2012.  I felt it would be a great way to keep me positive, to track my progress and to provide information to others who were contemplating knee replacement surgery.

Sounds like an awesome way to keep you positive. Writing is a wonderful outlet. How long have you been blogging?

I’ve been blogging since November 2012.  I can’t believe it’s been over a year!

Time flies when we’re having fun doesn’t it? Does your blog have a particular theme Laura?

Well, I originally believed my blog would be a “Journey of a Body on this Earth”, focusing more on my physical health since I had several challenges in the last several years which set me back.   Little did I know that tagline would mean so much more than just my physical being.  Once I became more physically able, I started getting more into photography which definitely feeds my soul.  My blog has now morphed into primarily a photography blog, but I like to keep things fresh with a post here and there about other things in my life…hopefully with a bit of humor.  😀

Your photography is truly beautiful. I’m glad you ‘morphed’. You mentioned your knee surgery before, has blogging helped you face any other challenges in your life?

Oh yes.  Blogging helps me feel positive, productive and creative.  I used to play the piano and was very active in sports, but because of some nerve damage I have in my right hand, bad knees and some neck issues I have from an auto accident, I can no longer enjoy the activities I had done most of my life.  I was feeling pretty down about that but once I started blogging, it helped me move in a positive direction.  Also, I love technical challenges, and since my blog is now mostly photography I’m always learning new things and I absolutely adore that part of it.   It gives me a sense of accomplishment.  It’s definitely lifted my spirits.

Right now I am empathising with the neck and knee issues. It’s great that photography has helped you by giving you a sense of accomplishment. How often do you get the chance to blog?

I try to blog every three days

And where do you find the inspiration for your posts?

My inspiration is definitely the beauty of the San Francisco Bay Area.  I’ve lived here all my life and I can never tire of the beauty that surrounds me.

It sounds like a magical place and is definitely somewhere I would like to visit some day. Having such beauty around you is wonderful. Do you have a particular quote or mantra that you believe is perfect for your life?

I do!   My mantra is:  “If there’s a will, there’s a way.”  That has always been my mantra as far back as I can remember and I’ve mentioned this to friends and posted this on Facebook enumerable times.  I believe if one wants something badly enough, there is always a way to make it happen.

Most definitely. A dream only remains a dream until you make it a reality! As well as posting, I know you visit other blogs. What draws you to other blogs?

 Well, the obvious answer for me would be photography, but I also love reading blogs based on someone’s life stories….you know, little snippets of anything from travel to taking the dog for a walk.  I think it’s the style of writing that usually draws me in and blogs that have good wit.  I love to laugh and there’s nothing like starting my day with a cup of coffee and my Word Press Reader!

That sounds like an ideal start to the day! 🙂 I’m so pleased to have had you visit so that we can learn more about your Laura. Is there anything else that you would like to share?

Only that as isolating the internet can be sometimes, it also brings a wonderful sense of connectedness that we would’ve otherwise not had.  I’m very happy to be here!

And I am happy to have you. 🙂 Thanks so much to Laura for sharing with us this evening. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Fellow Blogger – Laura Macky

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

