Fellow Blogger – Lisa from A Day in the Life

Image

Tonight, we are going to meet Lisa from A Day in the Life. Lisa describes herself on her About page as “Wife, friend, sister, dog walker, crafter and volunteer”. Lisa is currently researching her husband’s family history and her most recent blog posts Six Degrees of Separation and Lessons from a Life Well Lived reflect this. Lisa writes on varied subject matter including broken bones, pets and memory. Her writing is excellent and I believe her blog is well worth a visit.

Welcome to the couch this evening Lisa. It’s so nice of you to join us and chat about blogging. What drew you to blogging?

A friend of mine started blogging on WordPress, and although I had never written anything before, I thought I would give it a try. There were things rolling around in my head that I wanted to let out!

I think a lot of us start out that way. We have things in our head trying to escape and blogging is the perfect outlet. So how long ago did you begin blogging?

I started last month! December 2013.

 Wow! You are  a newbie to the blogosphere. Welcome! You are more than likely still finding your groove. Does your blog have a particular theme that you write about?

First, I love that I have “met” people from all over the world who have so much to share in their blogs. They make me think, they make me laugh, they make me cry. Blogging has made me look at things differently, if something happens during my day I think about it more deeply knowing I can write about it. I tend to be an introspective person and blogging has made me more so. 

Meeting people is such a buzz and I find that I am learning something new every day. No doubt you are the same. Many people find that blogging helps them work through challenges in their lives. Have you found this?

Blogging allows me to revisit times in my life that may have been difficult and write about them. Putting the thoughts into words can make things more clear sometimes. I have been a Pastoral Care volunteer in a hospital for many years, and became close with many people who have died. I also took care of a friend who was dying from lung cancer for the last 18 months of his life (he was 56) I have written about both experiences which was helpful- it was cathartic to be able to share my experience, and there was a part of me that wanted to also “share” these people I had lost – to keep their memory alive.

It takes a special person to do that. Writing about this would certainly have been cathartic for you. How often do you get the chance to blog?

I try to write everyday. I feel like I have missed something if I skip a day. It is becoming part of my routine, which I like. I look forward to “thinking out” an idea and being able to expand upon it by writing.

Ha ha. I think we all find that 🙂 And where do you find the inspiration for your posts?

Sometimes from articles I read, but mostly from my life. From the past, from the present, my friends, family and the classroom where I am an assistant teacher. Plenty of life lessons in first grade.

There is nothing quite like learning about life from a five year old is there? 🙂
Do you have a particular quote or mantra that you feel suits your life or gives you something to work toward?

“Give to the world the best that you’ve got, and the best will come back to you.”Putting your all into what you do and making a difference in the lives of others is what it’s all about. The best coming back to you is knowing you have “done right” by someone.

The law of reciprocity – doing unto others as you wish them to do for you. It’s a great lesson for us all.
I guess being new, you are still finding your way around the hundreds of thousands of blogs out there. What sort of things do you look for in a blog to follow?

People facing their challenges and writing about their journey. Humor and beautiful photos too.

There are a great many out there that would fit your criteria beautifully. Happy hunting! In closing, is there anything else that you would like to share with us?

I am so glad to have started blogging and met the wonderful people I have- everyday I look forward to reading what my new “friends” have shared. I love being able to join in their journeys. Thank you Sue!

You are so very welcome. I’ve enjoyed chatting with you 🙂

I am running the Fellow Blogger series until the end of January. If there is anyone else who might be interested in joining in and sharing the couch with me one evening, please don’t hesitate to let me know. I have about 6 spots left 🙂

17 thoughts on “Fellow Blogger – Lisa from A Day in the Life

    1. I think we all have the same basic views and ideas in life. Some are a little more radical than others and some approach life with a little more humour but the majority of bloggers I have found really want to make a difference in life. 🙂
      Thanks so much for your comment.

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

