Fellow Blogger – Me – Who am I?

ImageTake Two….. 😀

Today I want to introduce another special lady to you. Mewhoami is a great online friend. She is someone I know will always support and encourage me. I love reading her posts that are a mixture of observation and personal experiences. This lady has a son with a disability however refuses to treat him any differently to her other children and never gives up on him – even when others have. I had this post all written out last night and then lost it. I think the universe wanted me to give up last night because this morning I read the most amazing post from mewhoami about her son What is Success? She paints a realistic picture of parenting a child with autism. Of course she can write about the funny times as well When Eye Contact Goes Awry. Mewhoami writes anonymously and explains some of her reasoning for this in her post Spying Eyes. I also love that she observes life and writes social commentary. You can find examples of this in the posts Who’s the Boss? and Sexy Teachers?

Welcome my friend to the couch. I’m so pleased to have you here to chat about blogging. I am asking everyone (and you are no exception) what drew them to blogging in the first place.

I had gotten to a point where I felt lost; questioning life, who I was and who I want to be. Initially, I started blogging in an effort to learn myself better and to share with others what I learn along the way. Also, I felt that blogging would be a fun way to open up to others, as I tend to keep most of my thoughts to myself.

I don’t think you are the only person out there who began blogging for those reasons. I think that there are so many people out there who know more about my mind and thought processes than those who are closest to me do.
So how long have you been blogging?

I began my first blog about 4 years ago, but the site I was using was rather boring, because there was no community involvement. So I didn’t keep up with it for too long. As for WP, I’ve been blogging for one year as of yesterday.  (that would have been Jan 8 – Suz).

I think the community involvement is the big factor here. It is what keeps those who blog motivated and inspired. It’s sort of like an extended family if you like. I’ve already commented on the type of posts you do in my intro however does your blog have any particular theme?

If I were to have a theme it would be based off my tagline, “Life – How it changes you. Where you go. Who you become.” Since that theme includes a range of topics, I write about anything that inspires me.

I’m sure you would have no shortage of writing materials with that theme. I’m wondering though if you feel you have gained anything by blogging?

The experience has been very therapeutic and most of all, highly enjoyable. I’ve met a lot of wonderful people from across the world, with stories and lives similar to my own and others who have inspired me to be a better person. The community makes blogging so much more alive.

I agree. 🙂 Apart from the obvious challenge of trying to stay two steps ahead of your children, are there any challenges that you feel blogging has assisted you in dealing with?

Although I am around people constantly in the physical sense, mentally I am often alone. That is of my own choosing. There are less than a handful of people I trust enough to talk to and no single person, do I tell everything. However, I’ve learned that in order for me to grow and learn, I must be able to share my thoughts with others and gain their insight. Blogging has been very therapeutic and has opened my eyes to many perspectives that I would have never known otherwise.

There are so many differing personalities and experiences behind those who blog that I can understand why your eyes become opened and you have gained a greater perspective on issues. How often do you find the time to blog?

I try to blog every day Monday through Friday. Weekends are very hectic. So, if you ever notice that I’m off the radar on the weekends, just know that I’m running around like a chicken with its head cut off.

Too funny. My mum used to say that all the time 😀 (the chicken thing lol) Where do you find the inspiration for your posts?

My inspiration comes mostly from conversations I have with others, people I see throughout the day, my son and my own personal experiences. Occasionally, I toss in a short fiction story to test the waters, as I’ve always loved the idea of writing a book.

Go with your dream. I believe many of those who follow my blog also love to write.
I love asking this next question, because I am a quote collector at heart. Do you have any quotes or mantras that you feel suit your life right now?

I have two. The first is, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” The second is, “Time is a companion who reminds us to cherish every moment because it will never come again.”

I have that first quote by Lao Tzu in a poster on the wall beside me. It’s excellent. I love your second quote also.
I often see you pop up in the comments on other blogs so I was wondering what it is that draws you to other blogs?

Honesty and openness draw me in immediately. I highly respect a person who is brave enough to reveal themselves to the world. Humour also attracts me. There’s nothing like a good laugh, especially first thing in the morning over a cup of coffee.

Humour is always good – not so good if you’ve got a mouthful of tea though!! 😉
I’ve loved chatting with you and learning more about you. Do you have anything else that you would like to share?

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to all those who read, follow and comment on my blog. There are not words to describe how much it means to me, that someone takes time out of their day to read my words. Thank you. Also, a special thanks to you, Sue, for giving me this wonderful opportunity to join in on your Fellow Blogger Series.

It has been an absolute pleasure to do this with you. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Fellow Blogger – Me – Who am I?

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

