We are the architects of our life

This morning, I awoke with the lyrics of a song from far in my past playing in my head. I’ve mentioned before that I am a collector of quotes and poetry. I have a beautiful cloth bound book that I began when I was a teenager, filling its pages with things that meant something to me at the time. The lyrics of this song are included in this book. When I was a teen, I was a member of a church that many consider a cult. I am not here to debate that as it is in my past. I learned a lot during my time with them and it was one of many, many churches that I attended over the years of my life. Each of these churches offered something to me that I have taken with me on this journey called life.

But I digress, the song that was playing in my mind this morning is one called “Paper Dream”. It was a song in a musical that was produced by the church I was speaking about before. The song’s lyrics talk of a boy who has some paper in his hand and he begins sketching the person he wants to be – a warrior of great nobility. The song builds up and then ends with the words “but chances are I’d probably strike out”. So why did this song come to me this morning after almost 30 years?

Over the past week, I have spent a lot of time thinking of where I want my future to go and the steps I will need to take to achieve it. I have explored my goals and dreams but there is that persistent voice at the back of my head that keeps telling me that it will never happen. That I am an everydayΒ  wife and mother and that these things don’t happen to middle aged women.
I can fill my life with positive quotes such as the one on my wall at the end of the hall “Believe yourself and all things are possible” or the one above my desk “You can’t make a positive life with a negative mind” or even the one just above eye level here at my computer “What you do today can improve all of your tomorrows”. I can read these and speak affirmations to myself but if I continue to undermine my dreams and plans with little negative thoughts then I may as well not have dreams at all.

In keeping with the lyrics of the song, “I take some paper in my hand and with my pencil draw the man (woman) and dream of what I’d really, really like to be”. I outline my goals (did you know that if you write a goal down then you are more likely to fulfill it?) and the steps that I need to take to get there. I remember that baby steps are what is required because if I try to do everything at full throttle, I’ll crash and burn. I will begin each day with a positive thought and end each day with a positive thought as well. I will remember that a bad day does not make a bad life. And I will dream.

I will not strike out!

39 thoughts on “We are the architects of our life

  1. Here is another quote that I always liked and goes well with your post:
    ….. I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul.
    part of a poem by William Ernest Henley.

    Incidentally, without even planning it, I have done it all of my life. I did it instinctively but when the time was right to do it ( or else the ship will flounder …).

    Keep drawing your blueprints, architect!

    Like

  2. Well, I’m not one to believe in positive thoughts alone. First, you have to learn to block and stop the negative thoughts.

    I’m struggling with the fact that I may never learn photography. Tonight, I made another step to achieving my goal. I entered a competition. Didn’t win anything, but I learned quite a bit.

    By the way, I have a goal list with any dream or goal. Doesn’t matter how lofty, it’s on there. I may not achieve every one of them the exact way I envision, but in some form, I will achieve them. I give them to the universe and see how they fall. I am quite surprised, at how they are achieved. That is if I don’t get sucked into depression. Keep trying to smack those negative thoughts away.

    Like

    1. With what you learn April, you will improve and grow. That can only be a good thing πŸ™‚ I still struggle in understanding aperture so you aren’t alone with struggling with photography.
      I have a goal list as well April and some of them may be so far in the future that I may be old before they happen lol
      Thanks for your encouragement. It means so much to me.

      Like

      1. One of my goals is to bike around the back roads of France. πŸ˜€ Unless I start to get this old body into shape, I will be motoring around France. That is if I can overcome my phobia of flying.

        Like

        1. You know when I read your first goal I thought of your phobia right away. πŸ˜‰ That’s a good goal to have. I’m working on my GG about driving through Europe at the moment. It’s going on my vision board. πŸ™‚

          Like

  3. The best understanding of reality is the past is over – transcendence – God’s use of nature and power is wholly independent of the material universe, beyond the understanding of the physical laws as we learn these – we definitely want to stack our progress in our favor; while aiming toward an outcome – knowing the time is not relevant to the outcome – its the enthusiasm of the result and allowing an awakening to new possibilities to overcome past expectations and limitations. No
    matter what the past was, we start again – install a reset button is what I do. If the past comes into my dreams its okay but I like to cut it off in a few seconds before it can contaminate the now moments altogether… Reset – Rethink – Review. Its good to use paper or a document and word it carefully and then again and again if need be to make it only outstanding and complete and positive. If the past interferes, I take time to determine how the past is over – it isn’t me anymore when its over and it holds no power in me then. I took the entire month of December and I worked on me – just for this very reason. I eliminated the power of the past in a huge step towards recreating myself. The lessons of years were fit into a month. Transcendence gives me a new awareness of myself in God’s plan for me. Life is ever more mine to appreciate. The time is ever more mine to cherish. Instead of freeing my mind, I focus on the Mind – God is so much in us and rising in us and we are so oblivious to Him and when my little mind is still and I contemplate His one mind, I am free of my little petty ego brain and I feel the Mind in me, God’s Mind in us is in the gut and in the heart and it illuminates the head from all around more so than from the little ego part that usually ran the day. I found someone recently online that I’d read something like maybe 20 years ago… the book was Creating by Robert Fritz. The man wrote everything I needed to know – I was tuned into other things then. He has a web site now with dozens of articles and he’s made some progress in his work http://robertfritz.com/index.php?content=writings
    Its getting late here… enjoyed your musing Suz. It got me consolidating some thinking and that is where I am presently.
    Best wishes for success. We don’t quit, we don’t cower, we don’t run; we turn it al around to have us some fun.
    ~ Eric

    Like

    1. Thanks for your well thought out response Eric. It means a lot that you care.
      It sounds as if you have undergone what Wayne Dyer would call a Shift. I watched this movie last week and would highly recommend it. (I haven’t yet read the book though). It is about putting the ego aside and asking “How can I serve”? When you do this, then everything else falls into place.

      Like

          1. Yes, in fact, “how can I serve?” is one of my primary focal points. I took all of December to look at this. I am continuing in January practicing. For me, the falling into place means time for allowing. I’m making time with that part of the process.

            Like

  4. You are doing this so very good Sue. Your insight will help you to reach the goals, as you really want. I feel sure about that.
    Next time the little negative voice come up and tell you , that this is not possible; try to say: go away, I don’t want your negativity here, go away. Then force your self to think positive, right there. This use to help me and maybe it might help you too.
    Irene

    Like

  5. A bad day doesn’t make a bad life. So true, but how easy to generalise when one is down or tired. It continues to amaze me what influence our thoughts have on our outlook. Interesting post, a Sue. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank YOU for reading it.
      It is something that I often have to remind myself of. A bad day is just a bad day. It does not mean that it will continue on into the rest of my life. I have had to teach myself to put my head on the pillow and let it all go. It has taken almost half a century but I think I’m finally getting it lol

      Like

  6. I love the title of your quote as well as the quotes you’ve got scattered around and the Paper Dream. Thanks for reminding me to stay focused on my dreams as well. I think patience and trust are such important gifts to carry with us. Even when things are going not so right we can at least know that it is all temporary. And we are in fact the creators of our lives.

    Like

  7. Here I go again….acceptance is what saves me. I also believe in positive thoughts and to expand, i mean to look at things in a positive way but without putting my head in the sand. When someone does something that ruffles my feathers, a lot of times there is no sense in getting into it with them so I just accept it. Acceptance has made my life a lot easier and less stressful. Thank you for your positive blogging!! It really is uplifting.

    Like

    1. I can understand where you are coming from Laura with your mantra of acceptance. πŸ™‚ Lately when someone has been ruffling my feathers I have been repeating to myself “How can I serve”? It certainly makes me take a step back and look at the situation in a whole new light that’s for sure.
      Thank you for reading my blog and your awesome commenting πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Quotes are great to read and certainly sound good, but they are mere words if we do nothing to apply them to our life. In order to get anywhere, we have to move our feet. I’ve been a ‘talker’ much of my life. There are so many things that I want to do, yet I often stop myself from even taking the first step. It’s interesting how we can sabotage our own dreams and goals.

    Like

    1. Exactly and I agree. It is so much easier to ‘talk the talk’ than it is to ‘walk the walk’ because when you walk, it takes effort.
      I promise to stop sabotaging my dreams if you stop doing it to your own. πŸ˜€

      Like

  9. I love the way you think and share. I also know our dreams need work, and often they come to fruition in ways we would never anticipate. Sometimes it’s good to let our souls take charge without help from the rest of us — without affirmations, written goals, etc. Whatever, I have no doubt your goals, even if they change in ways you don’t expect, will be realized, because you are the person your are.

    Like

    1. Hi Mona! So good to see you again. πŸ™‚
      I use the affirmations and quotes to keep me focused. It doesn’t always work out that way, but I try.
      Thank you for your faith in me.

      Like

  10. I think you’re great just the way you are. BTW, nothing that you will ever achieve or accomplish will ever be as important as being a loving Mum and wife. Nothing. I have more respect for my Mom “as a woman” than I do for Canada’s female Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

    Watch “The Lion King,” groove the Circle of Life, love your kids, love your family, love your friends, love your neighbours, love your enemies. Discover who you are, not define who you think you should be. Pursue endeavours for pure joy or genuine need or for their inherent worth, not to address a sense of inadequacy.

    Like

    1. No sense of inadequacy at all my friend. More like finding a more tangible way in which to serve.
      And thanks for the lovely words. I am happy that I have pretty well-adjusted children and a happy GG. I am pleased with that part of my life but within me there is a part that wants to do more. I guess that is where this post was coming from πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Ha ha… Okay, that just made me laugh out loud. πŸ˜€ You are one person I am pleased to call a friend because you always manage to make me smile. I myself am having a glass of Banrock Station Savignon Blanc infused with peach and mango.

      Like

  11. Best wishes on achieving your goals Suz! Right now my goal is to get caught up with my reader, it’s a daunting one but I am bound and determined to do it. πŸ™‚

    Another commentor said something about when someone ruffles their feathers, I like that expression. As you know I’ve been dealing with some ruffled feathers lately, it’s been challenging but I’ve been making tiny steps to help the situation. I used to have a massage therapist who taught me that when you have negative or bothersome thoughts you should try to aknowledge them and then let them go. This really helps me when I’m trying to fall asleep or meditate. Thank you for sharing this thoughtful post πŸ™‚

    Mary

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

