A question for my U.S Friends

ImageMany of you know that I really want to travel and had in mind a trip through Europe and on to Budapest. So, I’ve been talking with the GG and it is one of his dreams to drive Route 66 the whole length. The Tween (being the avid Dance Moms fan that she is) wishes to visit Pittsburgh and Idaho as well.

So we have been discussing it all this afternoon and the GG asked the question “When would be the best time of year”? Now I’m thinking that Spring for you guys would be peak season and since I really, really would love to see the Autumn (Fall) colours as well, I was thinking October. Being inexperienced overseas travellers I need to know whether you think that October would be a good time of year to drive across the U.S from New York to L.A with side trips to the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas and San Francisco.

So hit me with your suggestions and advice. I’m all ears 😀

44 thoughts on “A question for my U.S Friends

  1. I always wondered why EVERYONE drives from New York to LA and not the other way. That’s the way I’d do it- especially if I wanted to see the fall colors AND then I could drive into them, not away from them. Depending on the length of your trip, I’d start at the west side and plan to be in New York after the 2nd week of October. And don’t forget Seattle either. Oh, and if you decide to go the way that EVERYONE does, you’re not only going to have to leave later, but you’re also going to have to pack more cold weather clothes-just saying. Have fun!

    Like

  2. Depends on where you start! If you started in NY in mid to late September the colors would be spectacular and it wouldn’t be too cold. I live near the great lakes so it’s cold here in October and sometimes even snow so if traveling in October I would say the beginning would be better when traveling the east coast. Good Luck! It sounds like a really fun trip, you will meet tons of people and have plenty of blogging material!

    Like

    1. Thanks. That’s great to know.
      Since the start of Route 66 is in Chicago and the Miss wants to see Pittsburgh then we would be up that way. We’re even discussing a trip to Niagara Falls.
      So snow begins in October? I had in my head it was later toward Thanksgiving.
      Thanks for the advice. 🙂

      Like

  3. I live in the US and have heard of Route 66 since I was a kid but I’ve got no clue where in the country it is! I see the above posters suggesting traveling in the fall so you can experience the beautiful color changes. I’m a little different, I prefer to travel in the spring……hope you fill us in on your decision!

    Like

    1. Thanks. I’m thinking that the Fall would be a cheaper time for us to travel as I believe Spring is peak season.
      My Tween has it in her head that she would love to be in the U.S. for Halloween also.
      It’s all up for discussion right now though.

      Like

  4. I’m a fall person but spring in St. Louis would be grand. They have botanical gardens there that are amazing. Wonderful museums also. You will be skirting by my wonderful state of Arkansas so holler on your way through.

    Like

  5. If you go with Spring, late March is lovely, but you may encounter snow on the eastern side, especially in the mountains, and that can be perilous! It often snows here in March, and sometimes in April. If you go with Fall, mid-September is the peak of the eastern foliage. There isn’t much more beauty than New England in the Fall. I’d go in the Fall, so you could watch the leaves from NY trhough the Midwest, at least. Depending on how long you travel, the US has so many activities through the Fall.

    Like

    1. Thanks. Sounds wonderful.
      We don’t really wish to encounter driving in snow as we don’t get snow here where I live and it isn’t something we are accustomed to.
      I guess the GG will have enough issues dealing with road rules and traffic without factoring snow into the deal.

      Like

          1. I don’t know why you’d know! But, listing all the states with mountains would be a very long list. Basically, everything but the center has mountains. The east coast has the Alleghenies, the Appalachians and the Green..The middle has some Appalachians and the Smokeys. The West has the Rockies, and those are vast.
            Here is a topographical map that should help substantially.

            http://www2.needham.k12.ma.us/eliot/technology/lessons/map/phy_map.htm

            Like

  6. Personally I believe spring is best on the west but not so sure on the east because fall is beautiful on the east coast. I don’t do snow though, so I’d probably pick the time when there’s no snow, lol. (Spoken like a true San Franciscan.)

    Like

    1. Too funny.
      I think as long as the weather isn’t overly hot or below zero we’ll enjoy the West Coast whether it is Spring or not.
      We definitely want to do San Francisco. 🙂

      Like

      1. Ohh…well, if you come here, please don’t hesitate to ask me any questions about this area. I’ve lived here all my life and would be happy to help! The west coast is good at any time of the year actually. It’s just that it’s green in the winter and spring and brown in the summer and fall, contrary to the east coast. 🙂

        Like

          1. Oh, lol! I didn’t think of that but you are right. Most people that come to California in the summer are surprised to see how brown it is. It’s not called “The Golden State” for nothing!

            Like

  7. I agree with sunshinesandy. I would start in the west and go east in the Fall. (also–make sure you see Seattle) Since you don’t see snow much, it might be more fun to travel the other way in the Fall, but Fall/Winter driving can be treacherous over the mountains. But—if you do travel Route 66, that is a wonderful view of our history. Personally, those are the “ugly” states to me. It is nice to see the Southwest due to it’s uniqueness, and there is the Grand Canyon–well, never mind, there are other ugly states–so ignore me.

    Like

    1. Too funny.
      I guess it would depend which coast is cheaper for us to fly to where we start.
      I’ve thought about Seattle but didn’t realise it was so far away from where we want to go. It’s going to be difficult to fit everything we want to do into a time frame.

      Like

  8. Seattle sucks. They have that same space needle thingy in vegas, only way cooler cuz it has a roller coaster and a bungee jump on top of it. We have a timeshare over in Las Vegas…do you have your trip booked?

    Like

    1. No, nothing booked at all CJ. We’re just discussing it right now. We will probably ‘wing it’ with most of our accommodation as we travel because we don’t like travelling to a time table.

      Like

      1. Well I would be very hurt to know you sneaked by me without saying you were going to be through…
        I would happily make the trip over so I could meet you for a quick visit. LOL! Which is something I don’t do for very many! Hey, but last evening I spent 2 hours on the phone speaking with another blogger I follow here! And I really hate spending more than 2 minutes on the phone with anybody!

        Like

  9. A lot of route 66 doesn’t exist anymore. So don’t get your hopes set on really driving it. The interstates sort of made a lot of it go away. One of the backstories to the movie Cars.

    Like

  10. I just want to add to my ramble, that Spring would be a good time, if you aren’t planing on hot spring break destinations. I think the kids like other places out of the states, except Florida.

    Like

  11. Fall would be a beautiful time to travel. The only downfall is, as someone else mentioned, that you may run into snow if you travel in October. Many places begin getting snow in October, including us here in Colorado. However, the snow isn’t bad normally and usually passes and melts rather quickly.

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

