Positivity on the menu

ImageI admit, I’m a sucker for some of the reality tv shows out there. Right now it is My Kitchen Rules. The premise of the show is that ordinary couples from around Australia are chosen to compete against each other. Twelve teams were split into two groups. Each team hosted the others (and the judges) at their homes where they dished up a three course meal. At the end of both weeks, the lowest scoring team went home. Then the producers threw in a curveball – Gatecrashers!!


The two lowest teams from each group were to compete against the gatecrasher teams.
It’s been fun watching the personalities. Some that I thought I would like may be good cooks I found lacking in personality. Some are spiteful. Some are sleazy and some just make me laugh (even though they cook badly).
And then I discovered these two gatecrashers – Carly & Tresne. Best friends Carly (a Home Ec teacher) and Tresne (works in Real Estate) are positive and upbeat. These ladies, can not only cook they serve up beauty and motivation along with it. In fact their official bio states that they want to become motivational speakers at some point and I believe that this is a dream that they can easily achieve.

I have a girl crush on these gals. Of course I don’t know what they are like in real life but on camera they are always positive. These lovely blondes rock my weeknight viewing.
Calling their instant restaurant “Inspire”, they decorated the walls with motivational posters and used mood rings in the place of the usual napkin rings. The theme of the night was “Be amazing. Be resilient. Inspire.”
Both of these ladies have become the masters of one-liners, quotes and innovative solutions to tricky cooking problems e.g. cooling their balsamic reduction over the air vent in the floor.
With sayings such as “Holy snapping turtles” and “Holy Dooley”, my weeknight viewing is peppered with smiles.
Tresne lives her life by the mantra “If you think you can, you can and if you think you can’t, you can’t”. She can be harder on herself than she is on others. However, she need not have worried too much because after the judges comments on her main, Carly exclaimed “It was like a big warm, snuggle hug and a bowl of porridge”. Carly is sweetness on a plate.

In a television show where sarcasm and hurtful comments are dished out regularly, Carly & Tresne are a delightful breath of fresh air.
Prominent in my mind is their first night on the show when the judges asked Carly her thoughts on a dish that had been served by another team. She replied that her mother always taught her that “if you can’t say anything nice you shouldn’t say anything at all”. She then proceed to give what she called a ‘compliment sandwich’ in which she spoke about the negative of the dish sandwiched between two positives.
On another night she was asked to give a criticism of a meal and she replied “My mother will kill me”.
Carly has made some crazy comments also. Her comment about not eating pork because she watched Babe when she was a child was priceless. Particularly when in the next breath she exclaimed how much she loves bacon.

When I first saw these girls on the show, I knew I wanted to blog about them. They are a breath of fresh air in the viewing landscape. They work well together as a team. They don’t crack (too much) under pressure. They are encouraging. They look for the best in each situation and they always have a smile on their face.

When I grow up, I want to be just like them.

17 thoughts on “Positivity on the menu

  1. I too am a fan of reality tv but not the cooking shows 🙂 I’m a Dance Moms, Toddlers and Tiaras and similar type girl. It’s fun getting a sneak peek into others’ lives 🙂

    Like

    1. Speaking of Dance Moms, the Tween showed me a clip on her iPad last night of season 4 where Kelly slaps Abbey and pulls her hair. I had tears in my eyes because you could hear the kids sobbing. I’m not saying Abbey doesn’t deserve it but still….

      Like

      1. That’s the bit I don’t like too… Well not just that scene per say but the way the kids are the pawns in the game. The adults should keep their stuff between themselves ( but show us on tv still lol) and just let the kids dance.

        Like

        1. I must admit that it is the dancing that the Tween loves the most. She can do some amazing stuff just by watching the girls on tv over, and over, and over, and over……

          Like

  2. We have a similar show here in America, can’t tell yopu the name watched it twice…could not bear the rudeness and sleaze. I love reality though ie. Dance Moms, Project Runway, Chopped and Worst Cooks In America which is a hoot. Asked one judge of the group “Where do you boil water”
    response”at the table?” Gotta love the dumbing down of America. LOL
    Your show sounds so much better than ours and I love the positive inspiration of it.

    Like

  3. Sometimes reality shows provide nice escapism from depressing news and violent shows. I’m embarrassed to say that I like some of the worst ones hahaha. We don’t have My Kitchen Rules but we do have DWTS and I love the tattoo shows! haha

    Like

    1. I’ve never watched the tattoo shows although I have seen them advertised.
      The Tween is a huge fan of Dance Moms and Toddlers and Tiaras. I’ve even been suckered into watching Wife Swap USA but I get so angry at the tv. lol

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Carly for stopping by and commenting. I truly was inspired by you both. Oh. And a huge congratulations to you both on your wedding. 🙂
      I hope you have achieved your dreams and you have all that you wish for in life.

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

