Don’t Worry – Be happy

Continuing in the same vein as my posts from previous days…….

Life will always try to bring you down.
We have bills to pay. There are deadlines to meet. There are an endless array of little things that will cause us to feel down.
Life is not easy.Β 
Smile πŸ™‚Β  πŸ˜€

When you worry, your face it frowns – that will bring everybody down.
Don’t worry – be happy.Β  – Bobby McFerrin

Just the silliness of this clip should bring a smile to your face.

And here is another of my favourite songs to share with you. (Yes, this one is on my playlist). The clip is okay (if you’re a Guy Sebastian fan it’s worth watching πŸ˜‰ ) but the words are awesome. Please listen to them.

My favourite line in this song is “Screw the low carbs, where’s my KFC”. That line alone is smile-worthy in itself! πŸ˜‰

When we were born, we were given no promises or guarantees that we would live a life free of worry or unhappiness. That sort of life just doesn’t exist. And if someone says that this is their life, I would seriously doubt them.
However if we change our outlook and thoughts we can change our frame. When we change our frame – we change our perspective. And we learn to be happy.

In the words of Guy Sebastian “Our life is short, we only get to live it once. So live and love and give it all you’ve got.” Bobby McFerrin sings “In our life we have some trouble. If you worry, you make it double”.

Or take up Bobby on his offer “When you worry, I give you my phone number. Call me. I make you happy”. A problem shared is a problem halved. Call someone if you need to.

Just as a side note:
These blog posts over the past few days have been written for ME. Yes, I know I am being selfish but I needed to encourage myself. I woke up on Monday with so much dread hanging over my head about my coming week. I needed to get myself past that. I knew there was no reason for it and so I vowed to change my thoughts and attitude. So far, it has worked. (One day, I will write a blog post about changing neural pathways). This week I have made a special effort to be happy, kind, smiling and to do fun things.
Yesterday I felt like baking before work. So I did. The Tween and I had Brownies for breakfast!! That was so much fun!
Today is Friday. One more day and then the weekend. I’m looking forward to it (the weekend I mean). But I am going to tackle today head-on and in the same way that I have tackled the past week.

So join me today as I re-frame situations, smile, laugh and be happy!! πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Don’t Worry – Be happy

  1. You always need to be honest to yourself and write for you at your blog. To be and stay happy sounds great.
    I read yesterday a relevant post for many of us in here. I don’t agree totally, but in one or another way, this is right:
    When we suffer by Depression – we live in the past
    When we suffer by Anxiety – we live in the future
    When we find the inner peace – we live right now
    Maybe you can use this one too.
    Enjoy your happy weekend Sue.

    Like

  2. This is proof that a person has control to turn their mood around, or at the very least try to. It may still be faking the funk, but like I’ve heard it said before “fake it till you make it.” πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Good for you! I am striving to do the same. I have even had a few laughs by myself. My kid hides out and hubby is still gone, so there’s me, the phone, and facetime. Has it worked for me? I’m neutral. That’s an improvement.

    Like

  4. Sue – good for you for investing in you! I’m not talking about the brownie and donut … but you know what I mean. Being your own framer is empowering.
    I have a slightly different perspective about life. Life doesn’t bring us down … it is what it is and always will be a series of ups and downs. When we accept that, then we can take action – like reframing and listening to uplifting music – to help us move through the waves.

    Like

    1. I thought the donut and brownie investment was a good one at the time πŸ˜‰
      Yes, it is all about perspective. I wish I could say that I remained happy all day but I allowed it to bring me down by the end of the day. In my defence I was very tired and I guess that slowed me a little.

      Like

    1. I have Dr Seligman’s “Learned Optimism” in my reading pile right now. I need to take the time to read it.
      And yes, your gratitude journal is wonderful. Much different to what my little book looks like. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

