Week – end roundup and Weekend plans

I did it!I survived another week πŸ˜€ That’s got to be a good thing right?
So in honour of my amazing survival skills, I plan on rewarding myself this weekend. Well not really, but it sounded good.
So to wrap up my week…. here goes.
This week I have learned:

  • It is great to smile
  • It’s always great to catch up with family – especially those you haven’t seen in many years
  • Funerals do not make a good start to the week
  • Putting an optimistic frame around things helps you to understand situations (and people a little better)
  • Everyone has a story
  • When you take the time to really listen to people, it creates more compassion inside yourself
  • It’s fun to try out things you’ve learned on others blogs. Amy from Thoroughly Nourished Life showed me how to put a new spin on my usual breakfast smoothie with her Banana Smoothie recipe. Laurie in his Writer’s Room inspired me to try my hand at artistically altering a photograph (photo to follow), and Mr Aewl assisted me in learning how to put the Blogging From A to Z logo in my sidebar. Thank you all!
  • I remembered this week, that I had signed up to do the Blogging from A to Z for the next month
  • I can always spend money well and I do hope that the Boonah Girl Guides raised a lot of money with their annual Craft & Quilt show last weekend. However, I am still waiting for the phone call to tell me that I won the raffle πŸ˜‰

I also learned that I am only human. After a great week of being optimistic and happy, I came home from work yesterday cranky and tired. The tirednessΒ  is a side effect from going back on my meds to help my balance. I know. I know. You shouldn’t stop stuff but I weaned myself off and the head spins had all but disappeared. Until this week when they showed up again. So I started my meds again – huge side effect: tiredness! I allowed little things to get under my skin yesterday and came home to vent to the GG. Something I promised myself that I would stop doing. So there you have it – I am human! πŸ˜€
Okay, artistically altered photo as promised.

we9I like daffodils. They make me smile. And that’s a good thing right?
So onto my plans for this weekend. Since the past two weekends have been pretty full-on I am hoping to have a quiet one at home this time. I’m seriously thinking about going op-shopping this morning to see if I can pick up some second hand fabrics or clothing (with great patterns) to use in some of my creations.
Speaking of which, the following photos all show my latest ‘works-in-progress’.
we1The latest trend for the young and nubile these days is for denim shorts adorned with lace, ribbons and buttons. I don’t intend paying $50 for a pair of shorts for the Tween when I can embellish them myself at a fraction of the cost.
we2I saw my very first clothes line basket last week and was instantly entranced. I bought a pattern and some washing line. I have googled how to sew them and this weekend I am going to start cutting the fabric so that I can begin wrapping the cord at night whilst watching tv.
we5Another new craft and I’m teaching myself as I go. There are some excellent on-line tutorials for Toothbrush Rugs. I think I’ve overdone the extra stitches in the corner and I’m learning that fabrics that fray too much are painful to work with but I’m liking what I’m doing. Off to find some old patterned sheets from op-shops to work with next.
we6Still working on my hexagons. I cut out and ironed on pellon to a heap more last weekend. Now they are just waiting for me to create more. I’m thinking I’ll do that tonight. πŸ™‚
we3I want to make some table runners for our new table (which has remained uncluttered for 2 weeks now!). I picked up these gorgeous Japanese prints last weekend at the Boonah Quilt show to do that. (I was going to go to the HUUUGE Stitches and Craft Show this weekend in Brisbane but decided against it. I have too many projects still to make). I also bought several new patterns at the quilt show last weekend so I have enough to last for a while. Last weekend, I also sorted out my fabrics and realised just how much I have. I don’t need to go and buy any more quilting fabrics for a while. πŸ˜‰
we4Still working on the Tween’s quilt. We layed it all out last weekend and did some measuring up. We reckon by the time we finish, it will fit a queen sized bed. Oh well! This is something that will always be used as she upgrades her bed over time.
And last but certainly not least, this weekend I plan to spend a good many hours studying.
we7I’m planning on a good weekend. I hope you all are too.
Remember:

  • Keep smiling
  • Look for the positives
  • Keep it in perspective
  • Less worry and more happy

we8

31 thoughts on “Week – end roundup and Weekend plans

        1. That’s sad really. Whilst they might be eye sores on occasion, it is much better for the environment to dry your clothes in the sunshine. I have always had a rule that everything should be removed from the clothesline and not allowed to stay overnight – even if it rains. Peg them out again the next day. But that’s just me πŸ˜‰

          Like

          1. I haven’t had one in eight years, and I’ve missed it so. We made sure to buy our house in an area where we could have things like a clothesline. I never had trouble with the drying, but then, in winter I used my electric dryer. I’m not so dedicated to the clothesline when it’s -6C and below πŸ˜‰

            Like

  1. Thank you for the inspiration…all of it! I have some plans for the weekend, but the only one that is a set plan that won’t go astray is a photo editing workshop. Beyond that, I have been leaning flexibility. If we don’t do exactly as planned, I won’t be having a melt down.

    Like

    1. Flexibility is the key my friend.
      Whilst I was in an op-shop yesterday morning I got a text telling me that my friend had dropped round. So I headed home to find she had brought her husband with her. We ended up having an impromptu bbq and spent the afternoon chatting (and having several glasses of wine). It was so much fun. But the only thing I achieved was getting out to the op-shops. lol

      Like

      1. Hey, one of the most important things in life is spending time with friends and enjoying yourself. That sounded like a perfect plan with a very happy ending!

        Like

    1. Daffodils certainly brighten the day that’s for sure. This was an old photo though as it is generally only in the winter months that they bloom here in Australia.

      Like

  2. You’re too busy to be dizzy Suz. I empathise with you on it, had it for quite a while until it settled down, I did my eye exercises. The daffodils are great, see you can do it.
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    Like

  3. The daffodil is my all-time favorite flower. I love the fact that it’s a bulb flower too. Bulbs are so easy. I do wish, however, the flower wasn’t just around for spring, and even then, not the entire spring. I wish it would bloom all of the warm month like the day lily does.

    I’m not doing the A to Z blog marathon. Being stuck with just one letter to be creative with just doesn’t appeal to me. Nevertheless, you have a good time with it, Suzanne. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. That’s the shame with most bulb plants Glynis. They only bloom for a short time. We have irises in our garden at the front. I hope this year that they come up again.
      I guess the A to Z doesn’t appeal to everyone but I thought it would be fun to try.

      Like

    1. Let me know if you get creative. πŸ™‚
      I didn’t get much done yesterday apart from pick up some fabric remnants and clothing to cut up from the op shop. Then last night I cut away some of my toothbrush rug to get rid of the curl.

      Like

  4. Late in reading your post Sue, but hope all is well with you now and your back on track with the meds. I like your achievements over the week, couldnt help having a little smile at your statements that starting the week with a funeral is not good, then posting the pics of the Daffodils.
    To me they are always synonymous.
    I enjoyed reading your blog.
    Ian

    Like

    1. See lilies are synonymous with funerals for me. I guess it is different with everyone. Daffodils are signify brightness and happiness to me. lol
      I wish I had achieved everything I set out to do but alas my back had other plans and it was uncomfortable (make that excruciating) to sit at the sewing machine. I did get a few things done though. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

