My book

I need to move forward and stop waiting for something magical (like more hours in the day) to happen. Dreams don’t come true without a little hard work on the part of the dreamer.
So yesterday, I thought about where I want my book to go.
I have decided that I want the book to be about real people telling their stories. A chapter per person.
I am interested to know just what depression looks like to them and how it manifests. Do they take medication or seek therapy? What coping mechanisms do they have in place? What do they think occurred to trigger the depression?
Do they ride the rollercoaster of wellness versus depressive episodes? How can they tell when a depressive episode is on its way?
Through people telling their stories, I hope that those who have never suffered depression will gain understanding.
And those who do fight the black dog, find hope and inspiration. I want them to realise that they are not alone.
So, I put out a call on my Facebook page for anyone who might be willing to participate and so far I’ve received one reply from a lovely friend overseas. πŸ™‚
Ideally, I would love to be able to chat with people face to face but for the times that I can’t, email will have to do.
I am putting one foot in front of the other and stepping out.

Ironically my stars for the week have told me to stop yearning for my dreams and exist in the present right now. At least it didn’t tell me to shelve the dreams. πŸ˜‰

If you would like to be a part of my book, then feel free to email me on smudgetheattackcat@icloud.com

53 thoughts on “My book

  1. Interesting thing to do Suz, depression is such a big problem, interesting how different it is treated these days compared with 20 or 30 years ago. I look forward to hearing how you go with it.

    Like

    1. Thank you Leanne. It is precisely because so many people are worried about telling others that they have depression that I want to write this book. It helps when you know you aren’t alone with your feelings.

      Like

  2. That is actually a pretty cool idea! – I like how you said there ‘how do you tell if there is a depressive episode on the way?’ THAT is the key to conquering the beast.

    Like

  3. Hi Suz!! Long time since I’ve been here. I think your book idea is fabulous. I’d be happy to add the Raising a Child with a Disability depression rollercoaster chapter!! I’ll email you and we can catch up for a chat!

    Like

    1. Giovanna, that sounds absolutely awesome. I know you’ve had a rollercoaster ride for sure. Can you drop me an email and I’ll add you into the list?
      And yes, catching up for a chat would be wonderful. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. I like your idea and think the women that I help would appreciate reading about others who also struggle. I will say that I am not surprised you have only had one person reply via Facebook. So many that i see, express the fear of social stigma/
    Keep trying … you have a good idea!

    Like

    1. I have actually had another contact me through FB however many have contacted me through this post. I would still love to find some more people but I think the number I have is a great start.

      Like

    1. I have seen the beautiful photography created by these people and it is delightful.
      I’m glad you have found things to help you control your depression. That is wonderful to hear. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Sounds wonderful and there are so many people who have experienced this. I wish you every success Sue, you are right there is no proper time to start, you must just begin and keep plodding along good luck.

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

