A is for Attitude

ImageWhen I was working on my A-Z topics for the challenge for April, I enlisted the assistance of my little family here. Some of their suggestions were downright unworkable and made me laugh however some were great and you will see them in the coming month.
Today, I am kicking off my alphabet with the word “Attitude”.

This morning I was reading my regular newsletter from Marc and Angel Hack Life and some of what they said in it tied in beautifully with my thoughts. In their post “Twelve things you should start making time for again” they listed ‘Taking better care of yourself’ as number one, making the comment that it is your personal duty to take care of yourself and ensure that your inner light continuously shines through the dark patches. In short (my words – not theirs), it is your attitude that will determine whether you are able to make your inner light shine.
So what exactly is attitude?

attitude
ˈatΙͺtjuːd/
noun
noun: attitude; plural noun: attitudes
  1. 1.
    a settled way of thinking or feeling about something.

So there you have it. Attitude is the way in which you think about something. It is not something new or exciting however, it is ingrained…. settled…. learned.
How we deal with any of life’s challenges is as a direct result of our attitude toward it – or ourselves.
However……..

Attitude is a choice

We can choose the type of attitude we wish to have.
We can choose to be someone who is not going to let life get us down (too much – after all we are human) or we can choose to just give up and be defeated.
Nobody forces us to do anything.
Everything is within our own control.
Our attitude toward our life will be the deciding factor in whether you are happy or not so happy. It will be the deciding factor in whether you achieve your goals or you don’t achieve your goals.
Your attitude decides if you ‘shoot for the moon’ or meander along the byways of life.

Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you as by the attitude you bring to life;
not so much by what happens to you as by the way your mind looks at what happens.
-Khalil Gibran-

I would be the first to tell you that changing (or maintaining) your attitude is hard work. I know. I live each day.
However, I am also the first to tell you that a change in attitude affects your life and happiness.
So today, as we begin our alphabet – let’s start with and ‘A for Attitude’ on our report cards of life.

37 thoughts on “A is for Attitude

  1. A for Awesome Post!
    And if you do a letter a day, my first thought was “Oh, she’ll be doing Y on Anzac Day”, which seemed most appropriate (after all, “Why?” is a great question to be asked on that day!).

    Like

      1. Ah! Fair enough. … not that I was trying to be, I don’t know, “something” – it was just the first thing which popped into my head. I’m looking forward to reading what B will be for!

        Like

        1. I haven’t written it yet – slept in this morning because I took some mersyndol last night for my head and it knocked me out. Give me half an hour or so. πŸ˜‰

          Like

      1. I agree Sue. What I did mean was, that we need to have the wish for the change ourselves, otherwise we will never change anything at all. It is hard work to change one self, and I feel it is worth the hard work πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. my only problem is that I forget this- there are lots of choices that I was brought up to think were chance occurrences… things like this lesson ought be taught throughout primary grades

    Like

  3. Some days are certainly harder than others. I can cope and maintain a good attitude as long as my body aches are under control. Watching what I eat and exercise and being conscious of stress have been the key for me. My world is good if I feel good physically. Good start. Wish Attitude was a subject studied in school.

    Like

    1. Most definitely. When you feel great physically, the world appears a brighter place. I have taught my children that when they are feeling tired and sick, then they shouldn’t make decisions as their attitude is far different.

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

