L is for Love

As I was growing up in the 70’s these cartoons by New Zealand woman Kim Grove (who began creating them in the 1960’s) were everywhere. You couldn’t open a newspaper without seeing them and there were whole books dedicated to these cute “Love is” cartoons.To an impressionable teen these little cartoons ‘set the bar’ for my expectations of love and marriage. Sadly, I learned in life that whilst love is wonderful, it is also open to interpretation. Generally that interpretation depends largely upon the people involved in a relationship, their past experiences and their expectations of what love should be.
It’s taken a lot of years but I have learned (and experienced) real love.
There are a million quotes on love out there.
I often think of the quote (not sure who said it):

Love is never having to say you’re sorry

I’m sorry? What did you say?
I am of the opinion that if you truly love someone, you will need to apologise many, many times. Because true love admits mistakes and makes amends for them.
There are so many fallacies about love out there.
Many of these quotes are written by people with the rose coloured glasses of the early days of infatuation and desire firmly in place over their eyes.
As you liveΒ  those heady days, every thought is consumed by the object of your desire. Every waking moment is spent in dreams of a bright coloured future. Faults are overlooked and the world is full of rainbows and unicorns.
Real love continues on when the rainbows and unicorns give way to sleepless nights with crying children, loss of loved ones, health issues and the general struggles of day to day life.
Real love is when you come home from work tired and cranky and he says “Don’t worry, I’ll get dinner”.
Real love accepts your faults as a part of you.
Real love forgives.

For those of us who are lucky enough to have found real love in our lives, we are blessed.

29 thoughts on “L is for Love

  1. How true that real love is what’s there once the colours fade from the picture. I have never won the lottery of money but I am proud to say I have won the lottery of love with my husband and family the prize. It’s not always roses but it’s always a garden that continues to re-bloom . Oh, and I used to live reading those ‘LOVE IS ‘ cartoons.

    Like

  2. Hi Sue,
    I used to look for Kim’s cartoons every day in the paper but didn’t know she is a Kiwi. Thy always seemed so simple, and yet every time you needed a little cartoon about love, there was something charming from Kim.
    The quote “Love is never having to say you’re sorry” is a line from a 1970 movie, Love Story, with Ali McGraw and Ryan O’Neal. It was a bit sappy but everyone loved it and most of us saw it more than once.
    From my personal experience, I think love, like all significant and worthy relationships, must be worked at by all parties. It’s not something you find but something you build, out of expectations, hopes and dreams, but also out of compromise, compassion, sweat, tears, and a bit of tenacity. Anyone lucky enough to find love is likely to lose it if they don’t put in the muscle to keep it alive.
    Thanks for the thoughts and memories.
    Shari

    Like

    1. Ah yes, I remember that movie but not certain if I ever watched it.
      I agree that love must be continually worked out. After all, not many gardens flourish without work being put into them.

      Like

  3. I remember those, too, and was just recently thinking about them, oddly enough (trying to remember who did them or what they were called, etc.). (Had a family member who cut out and kept a few of them.) Thank you for the memory refresher!

    Like

  4. Yes, what you said….

    I am also learning that to be able to feel the love, we must love ourselves and feel worthy of that love…at least in my case.

    Like

  5. I remember those cartoons as well. I never knew where they originated until now.
    Yes, the line was from Love Story and, from what I remember, it referred to not having to say sorry for having loved. It was very poignant – sort of like “better to have loved and lost…”
    True love is a very rare thing. Those who have it are lucky indeed.

    Like

          1. I dunno… I think there’s a life lesson in “Love Story.” A message in it to appreciate what you have while you have it. I watched it when I was about ten years old, and it’s stayed with me since.

            Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

