Q is for…… Questions

How many of you thought it was going to be for Quilting??
Okay, it was but I changed my mind again. I’m a woman and it’s my prerogative apparently. And anyway, I’m still working away on the Tween’s quilt. Part of me hates that thing right now. lol
So, how did I come to this topic today? (Well there’s one question for you right there). I guess it is because asking questions is an every day part of life for me.
My mother tells the story of how horrified my great grandmother used to be because I would answer every request from her with ‘why?’ when a I was a toddler. As my mother tells the story, it is because she would always give me a reason for asking me something e.g. “Please clean up your room before I trip over something” or “Please pull up your socks or you will look like nobody owns you”. Actually she used to say that to my brother and I did often wonder if in fact he did belong to somebody else. 😉As I am getting older, I am finding that I am asking more and more questions in life.
I am not accepting things blindly as I used to.
I question so much now.
In actual fact I have to question why I am doing this as I am becoming older?
I used to think that older people were tired and cranky. Now I know that they are tired because of all the cr*p that goes on in life and cranky because there isn’t much that they can do about it.
I wonder if as we grow older, our tolerance levels drop? Like the tolerance levels for moronic imbeciles?
This little blog full of questions stemmed from a question I asked myself this morning – where has the respect for others gone in this world?
Walk back with me to a couple of nights ago when I was discussing with the GG about a garage sale for a deceased estate that was advertised in our local paper. I have a penchant for old things (that’s obviously good news for my parents lol. Now let’s see how long it is before my mother calls me about that little statement. 😛 ). Due to the fact that I love old things and appreciate the beauty of them, I decided that I would walk around to this garage sale a couple of streets over on Saturday morning.
The paper stated that it would begin at 8am.
Fast forward to this morning. I left home at 7.50am and walked around the corner to the house having the sale to find 30 cars parked up and down the road (I counted them). I walked in and found some beautiful things. As I was about to pick something up I was told “No, that’s taken. That’s my pile”. And it was quite a huge pile. Which led me to believe that they had been there for quite some time. Funny thing is that my watch said that it had only just gone 8am.
In my wildest dreams I would never think of turning up on someone’s doorstep prior to the advertised starting time but apparently others don’t think the same. That huge pile didn’t even fit into the back of the car that was then backed up the driveway. (Okay rant over. Apart from the things in that pile I wasn’t allowed to touch,  I did find some lovely old English china and some old books and copies of Australian Home Journal that came home with me. Did you know that there is an article in the 1959 issue about “How to make a poof”. You’d never find that kind of article in today’s magazines lol).
But I was disappointed and upset that others could not respect the time.
Maybe, I AM getting old if something like this upsets me.

So what other questions do I have about things these days?

  • Why do all politicians think we are stupid? Our state government is spending millions of dollars on an advertising campaign asking for taxpayer input into how they can bring the state’s debt under control. They have given us three options (all of which will screw the taxpayer over) to choose from. I want them to include somewhere for further comment where we might be able to suggest that a) they stop wasting our money on advertising campaigns and b) they themselves might look at stopping their yearly pay rises.
  • Why, when we live in a first world country do we have such appalling rates of poverty and homelessness? (I suppose it comes back to question 1 there).
  • Why are people so ‘precious’ about things and common words and phrases can now be termed ‘racist’ or ‘derogatory’?
  • Why is there such an attitude of entitlement in society today?
  • Why is the last drop of honey in a bottle always so hard to get out?
  • Why are people so intolerant of others?
  • Why are my stats dropping on my blog? Have I offended someone?
  • Why do people go through life with the attitude of “it couldn’t happen to me”?
  • Why do bad things happen to good people?
  • Why did Fat Cat get into trouble for not wearing pants yet Humphrey B. Bear never did? Could it have something to do with the colour of his fur?
  • What ‘little weed’ were Bill and Ben the Flowerpot Men often speaking to? (Remembering that I grew up in the 60’s and 70’s)?
  • How often do you say “I love you” to the people you love?

I guess that’s enough questions for now.
Do you have any questions you’d like to ask? Or if you can answer the question about Fat Cat I’d be grateful. 😀

51 thoughts on “Q is for…… Questions

  1. Why can’t people just do what they say they’re going to do?
    Why do people drive like idiots in the rain? It’s so dangerous!
    How is it that someone like myself who has worked since she was 13 can’t get any financial assistance from the government (because her husband earns over the threshold, on those outlandish and extravagant payscales teachers receive, ha ha) whereas others who have never contributed to society and still live with their parents get the full DSP? (yes, I know I’m venting, please forgive me)

    Like

    1. 1. I have no idea why people pull out of doing things they say they are going to do. Second thoughts maybe?
      2. People are idiots on the road even when it is dry.
      3. The DSP is a pain to navigate and I believe they say they are going to tighten the tests. We heard the story at work of one mother who had to take her son (dual diagnosis of intellectual and mental illness) into Centrelink one day to prove she wasn’t lying.
      4. Vent away if if makes you feel better. 🙂

      Like

      1. Thanks 🙂 It is difficult, on one hand knowing we may have to give up this house (which we are living in because we used to have two incomes) while waiting for an income protection claim which may or may not come through, being so stressed that my hair is literally coming out in fistfuls in the shower, and not being able to get any help! Still, such is life, and as you always say, it goes on.

        Like

  2. Ha! I’m sitting here trying to come up with a question, and my mind is a blank. That doesn’t happen very often because my brain moves at the speed of light most of the time, preventing me from relaxing. Well, here’s one….when is Spring seriously going to reach the southern U.S.?

    Like

    1. I believe that with some life experience now in our resume, we can be more open minded about things and realise that there isn’t always a cut and dried answer to everything.
      You have a wonderful Easter also Irene.
      It is Easter Sunday here and the rabbit has been and left me dark chocolate and Rocky Road. I am a happy girl 🙂

      Like

  3. I’d like to answer all the questions Sue but time doesn’t permit. They are all ones that annoy me also, except Fat Cat. I don’t actually give him any thought at all. Anyway Happy Easter and if I ever have a garage sale you can be assured I don’t open until the advertised time.

    Like

    1. Thank you Irene. If you ever have a garage sale and I am in the area, I will be sure to pop in.
      I never really liked Fat Cat all that much but think he got it much harder than Humphrey ever did.

      Like

  4. I’m gonna rename you the alphabet blogger’ess … only kidding suz, I know I can get away with it with you, and we’ll probably laugh about it 🙂

    Can answer the one about the politicians … because we are stupid !

    Love you

    Don Charisma

    Like

    1. Well the alphabet is all part of a challenge however I am not sure I will do it again next year. I find it a little stifling.
      And I am going to argue your point that we are not stupid. We just make the best choice possible between two moronic imbeciles on offer.

      Like

      1. Yes I know what you mean, I don’t like being tied down to things that last too long, got enough commitments with things like mortgages already … I could have given you an award that’s got the whole alphabet on it, could have knocked it out in one hit and rested for the other 25 days … suz, if only you’d asked me ! LOL … I know I’m not very funny …

        As for the politicians, they only give you two choices in Aus ? We get maybe 4 or 5 in the UK … any moronic imbecile can sign up to be MP if he’s got the money to form a party …

        Time for zeds here in United States of Thailand …

        Like

        1. We have two major parties and then there is the greens. There are a million choices for the House of Representatives but you only get two choices pretty much for the top job. Kinda sucks.
          And yes, any moronic imbecile can sign up when they have money. We have a party here called the Palmer United Party – now there is a top class imbecile. Just because he is rich doesn’t make him smart.

          Like

                  1. Suz, you’re talking to a politics moron, I’m more stupid than the politicians when it comes to politics, that’s why I tend to stay out of it … Cute cuddly mess making machines or not, you’ll not get me into a politics conversation … well never say never, now you’ve drawn me a pretty picture, I might be persuaded …

                    Like

                    1. No. I’m not much of a politics person either but I’ve learned that I need to take more notice of what is going on around me because those imbeciles are taking more and more away from us all to pay for their own debts.

                      Like

                    2. I can’t be arsed getting stressed about it anymore, I’ve been ripped off all my life by the government in the UK, I could complain about it all day, and night and the next day … so I just don’t bother to think about it … call it positive denial … much happier not thinking about it … one party this, one party that … I don’t care either way, my one vote isn’t the clincher, so let someone else care and vote … and wait I’m in Thailand, so I can’t vote, and what do I care about it anyway !

                      There it’s off my chest, thanks suz … your lifecoach training’s saved me 🙂

                      Like

                    3. wish you Australians would learn to speak English … you’re worse than the yanks, dah-ta … any fool knows it’s day-ta … now do you plah-stic or plas-tic ?

                      I’ll reblog ya tomorrow hun, I’m too tired now … and I’m same as you, my rule on rebloging is I only reblog what I congruent with … night night, sweet dreams …

                      Like

                    4. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

                      Like

  5. Funny about the changing your mind thing. I was purposely avoiding quilting for q because it was so obvious. But then some things happened, and it sort of HAD to be there. Along with quitting. They really did go together, but it wasn’t about quitting quilting. About quitting a bunch of other (thankless) stuff to just take on some quilting.
    I have a question for you. Why are you frustrated with the quilt you’re working on? 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m becoming frustrated with the quilt I am working on because it is such a large project (queen bed size) and the pattern that I converted was originally for a lap quilt. It is quilt as you go and somehow I have managed to mess up measurements or trim off too much excess etc and now my joining ‘tram tracks’ don’t all meet up where they are supposed to. I am now waiting on some lace decals I ordered off eBay to cover my obvious mistakes. lol

      Like

      1. That would be a few good reasons to be frustrated. I’ve been wanting to try quilt as you go, but haven’t done it yet. Luckily, the quilt that I’m working on for my daughter is twin sized, and that one isn’t quilt as you go. I guess I’ll find a different set of frustrations with that one. 🙂

        Like

  6. I love you is said by me everyone, everyday in this house. (And on the telephone, and in texts.) That’s important business, that!

    I am also a very curious person. I love learning. I wonder often.

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

