Through my Lens

Come with me today as we travel to Coffs Harbour on the New South Wales Coast. This was our first stop on our trip around New South Wales a few years ago. This time, the Son had been visiting to celebrate his 21st birthday so he travelled with us for the first part of the journey, leaving us in KatoombaΒ  to go back to Melbourne (but that post will come in a few weeks time).
We were staying only one night in Coffs Harbour and there were only two requests – we had to visit the Big Banana and I wanted to go down to the jetty. Some of these photos aren’t too great but I hope they give you an idea of the beauty of the place.coffs8First stop was the Big Banana.
After the obligatory frozen chocolate coated banana on a stick, we explored. The Banana itself isn’t terribly big (as you can see in the photo) and you can walk though it. The hillside is covered with banana trees. There is a walk to the top of the hill behind the banana for a magnificent view of the ocean. At the right time of the year, you can see the whales on their annual migration. Off to one side of the Banana is the fun area that the kids really wanted to visit. The best part is the luge. I gave up the pleasure of participating in this particular activity this time (last time I went left when I should have gone right and burned my arm lol). Ostensibly, someone had to look after the cameras and other things so below I stayed and took lots of photos of my family coming down the hill.
coffs4The next photo wasn’t taken by me but shows the luge in more detail.
coffs9Next stop was the jetty. I could have spent hours here but the hour or so we spent on dusk and sunset was well worth it.
coffs5coffs6The jetty is popular with young men and woman who like to dive off the side of it into the water. This afternoon there were a couple of young men enjoying the water.
coffs7We stayed in a tiny cabin at the caravan park. The park is also the home of the Miniature Village and the Clog Barn. As we had stayed in the cabins overnight, we had complimentary entry to the display. It really is amazing the detail contained within. Of course the children posed for the obligatory photos in the oversized clogs out the front. I have a photo somewhere of the Son in one of the clogs when he was a toddler.
coffs3coffs2Next week, we stop in at Trial Bay Gaol πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “Through my Lens

  1. My old stamping ground, Sue. We used to live at Bowraville inland from Macksville and close to Nambucca Heads. I love Coffs Harbour, that area is one of the loveliest parts of Australia and we’ve travelled through many parts. Apart from the beautiful landscape, the climate is really equable. We used to go weekly to Coffs to do our shopping at the big shopping centre just north of the town centre. Great memories – thanks!

    Like

    1. Thanks Laura. I was pretty happy with accidentally capturing the dive photo πŸ˜‰
      I have photos of the banana trees somewhere. I’ll have to find one for you. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

