T is for Time

You may (or may not) have noticed that I am a day behind on these now. Yesterday I was not well. Still not 100% this morning but a little better than yesterday. But I am breathing and that is the main thing! ๐Ÿ˜‰ However, I feel as if I have hardly seen my family as I have been in bed most of the time.
There is that word “time” – for four little letters, they sure hold a lot of weight in this old world don’t they?
Like money, time appears to be the one thing in the world that nobody has enough of. Many (myself included) often bemoan never having enough hours in the day.
We can blame Benjamin Franklin for telling us that “Time is money” and “You may delay but time will not”. Somehow over time, the concept of time has blown out of proportion.
So just how did those 60 seconds to a minute and 60 minutes to an hour gain such importance in our lives?
I personallyย  believe thatย  it is because society today tells us that we must do this and do that in order to be happy. We are bombarded with things to buy, places to go and people to see. It appears that every moment of our days needs to be mapped out for us. We work to pay the bills and advance our opportunities and then spend our ‘down time’ from work catching up on all the things that didn’t get done whilst we were at work.
Yet, time continues to tick on.
Imagining a world not governed by time brings to mind scenes of total confusion. Trains come when they feel like it. People aren’t able to set a time to meet up for coffee and a chat (because there is no time). The repair man would never arrive. Meetings would never happen unless it was by accident. Traffic lights would just work randomly (no timers). You get the idea…
So in that respect, time has it’s usefulness.
Yet, we need to stop allowing our lives to be governed by the clock.
Your child wants you to spend 10 minutes reading with them but you don’t have time. Will the world end if you are ten minutes late for whatever it is that you were going to do?
Regardless of the choices we make in life, time continues to march on.
Life is too short to allow time to govern every aspect of it.ย  Life should be about others. When we take time to make it about others (and not ourselves) we find happiness. Andย  when we make time for ourselves we become better people because we are happier in ourselves.
So take the time today to do some of the following things:

  • Tell someone you love them
  • Dance to a song on the radio
  • Sing out loud in the car as you drive along
  • Smile at a stranger
  • Write a gratitude list
  • Send an email or text to someone telling them that you’re thinking about them
  • Sit in silence
  • Pay a kindness forward
  • Smell the flowers in your garden (or someone else’s garden)
  • Watch the sunset
  • Compliment someone
  • Say ‘thank you’
  • Do something relaxing
  • Read a book
  • Have a long soak in the tub
  • Wear your favourite perfume or aftershave
  • Dress up for no other reason than to feel great
  • Walk away from the computer for aย  time
  • Sit in the sun
  • Enjoy the company of others

Feel free to add your own ideas to the list.
We need to remember to take the time each day to do little things. Because the little things that we spend time doing all add up.
As sure as 60 seconds makes a minute, the little things we do each day make a beautiful life.
Take the time to be happy and to be the happiness for someone else.

27 thoughts on “T is for Time

  1. Time is something we never get back nor can we bank it for use at a later date ( pity ). I’m trying at the moment to work where that fine line is of using time to do ‘necessary’ things and having enough still to do the things that count. Hope the day sees you feeling better than you did when you woke up xx

    Like

    1. I did get better as the day wore on but looks as if I’m in for a head cold ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Yes time is elusive isn’t it? It’s definitely a fine line between living and existing.

      Like

  2. I hope you feel better soon. This post is so uplifting. I also feel that things move too fast and we all expect so much. I mean what would we all do if the power were out for months. Would we all go in a corner and shrivel up and die? It’s why I talk about balance so much with my friends and try to keep my blogging in check more lately. I can’t spend EVERY minute on the computer….can i????? *looks worried* lol

    Like

  3. Hope you are feeling better! Learning to embrace the time I have has been a struggle. I have learned a little phrase to trick my mind into thinking about what I’m doing. I ask if this is how I want to spend my minute/hour….etc. You mentioned the end of the world if something doesn’t happen at that particular moment. That is my second question. I hope to master the enjoyment of time, because I’m running out of it. lol ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    1. April, we are all running out of enjoyment time – it’s one of life’s biggest crises ๐Ÿ˜‰
      But I like your idea of asking yourself if this is how you want to spend your hour. I do that at work and keep getting the answer ‘NO’ but I have to stay there though ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

    1. It is already tomorrow. I am slightly better but we don’t have to work today because it is a public holiday. That means I can go back to bed if I wish ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

