I need a smile

I believe it was only a couple of days ago that I spoke about situations and events not having any meaning until you assign some meaning to it.
Just this morning, something occurred that put my mind into overdrive and then sent it spiralling down the track to the bad places that thoughts sometimes go. I assigned meaning to something without having all the facts.
In hindsight (and with a couple of hours to think about it) I have realised my mind took me on a journey that it had no place going and apologies needed to be made.
It hurts.
So, I am going to smile and go forth and conquer the world.
It’s hard work taming the mind some days.
However, in the spirit of moving on – let’s talk about smiles and laughter.

They say that laughter is the best medicine. I have discovered over the years that tears and laughter are very closely interconnected and I can swing between the two in a matter of seconds.
I can laugh at the silliest of things.
I laugh at the same television commercials every time I see them even though I know what’s coming.
Here is the latest commercial that makes me laugh.

I just can’t help it. Each time he stalls the car I crack up.
Here’s another one that isn’t on television any more but still makes me laugh

I think it is healthy to laugh.
And it certainly makes you take a step back and stop feeling sorry for yourself.

Tell me, what has made you laugh today?

43 thoughts on “I need a smile

  1. The second one is hilarious! In the words of April, “I hope you find something beautiful today.” This was certainly a good start. Laughter is great medicine.

    Like

    1. Thank you.
      It was an alright day but not a great day. I guess that is better than a bad day. lol
      And I found some leftover chocolate after the staff meeting. In the words on one of the managers “Score”!!

      Like

  2. love the videos. My laugh came while playing Mah Jongg with my girlfriends and one of them always breaks out into song when she is losing and uses funny voices, and then we each join her continuing with the next line. It makes us all laugh- we always say we could never play with anyone else but us 4!

    Like

  3. I loved the second one. πŸ™‚
    After searching for a commercial I found very funny, that I was going to share with you, for an hour and a half, now I need another smile! (I didn’t find it, btw.)

    Like

  4. A lot of things make me laugh even when others don’t get it to why. It sometimes become an awkward situation but I don’t really care because it still seems funny to me, so, I’d continue sniggering whilst the rest continue with their normal “business”. Oh well.. i’m weird. Anyway, always smile and be happy!! Take care. ❀

    Like

  5. Ah yes the unhelpful places our thoughts can take us sometimes…. I recognise this.
    And like you too it’s good to laugh…. I have friends I laugh lots with so they’re the people to call or see. It just happens….there is contact and there is laughter. Also going to a Zumba class in my local gym… The energy of the dance moves, the buzz of the music, the humour of the teacher and the funny side of watching myself not quite get the moves looking as skilful as the teacher/ many participants but less ridiculous than some of the men there… It all helps!

    Like

    1. Oh Susi, you brought back memories of when I used to do aerobics in the 90’s. One day the instructor actually stopped the class to demonstrate what I had just done. We all laughed ourselves silly. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. First I will send you a big πŸ˜€
    A great post Sue, it is always good to be able to see the fun in many situations instead of crying, when we can.
    It is morning here and I have only been smiling by my pets until now. Have a wonderful day Sue πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Laughter is always much better than crying. I am glad that your pets make you smile Irene. This morning the Diva actually wanted a pat so that is worth celebrating! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. I’ve been up about two hours, and my mornings generally aren’t humorous, because we’re none of us morning people. When I woke up, I realized I had been sleeping in this tiny, Joey-sized space on the edge of my side of the bed. My husband’s head was on my pillow with mine, and his legs vee’d out beneath mine, crossing to my edge. I could have had more space on his side of the bed! However, as soon as I returned from the bathroom, he had rolled over into his own space. I admit to a light giggle, but nothing has made me LOL yet. It’s early still πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I laughed because I won a nickel from a fellow blogger. We bet who would with the American “The Voice” TV show last night and I won. It made me laugh when I got his email this morning. πŸ˜€ Laughter *is* the best medicine!

    Like

  9. My laugh for the day: Last week Hubby made a climbing scratching tree for our 3 kitties so they can get up to the top bunk of the bunk-bed in our spare bedroom (my bedroom when Hubby snores too loud). It replaces the old falling apart recliner that the kitties were using to get up there. The tree has been in there since last Thursday, yet the kitties haven’t used it. We know that they love the upper bunk. Have our kitties become brain dead? We thought for sure Marble would figure it out because he tries to build the door frames when we’re not looking. Instead, he’s been sitting on the window sills watching birds. This morning our oldest kitty, Miya figured out how to use the tree and sat on the upper bunk looking so proud of herself.

    Like

  10. Laughter is the best medicine, but that first commercial? The steering wheel was on the wrong side. πŸ˜€ So far, today–nothing to laugh about. Still in my jammies and its going on 1 pm. However, your commercials made me laugh.
    Here’s another one for you.

    Like

      1. The cows reminded me of a time when we were kids and my mom would place the box fan in front of the door to either bring in cold air or let the hot air out of the house in the summer. We would get in front of it and talk, laughing our silly heads over the sound our voices made through the fan blades.
        ….and just in case you need another laugh….

        Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

