Facebook judgements

I’m not certain if I read this (or overheard it) the other day but the words “Don’t you just  love people who re-post inspirational things and positive stuff on their Facebook feed when their lives are anything but? Shouldn’t they practice what they preach?” jumped out at me.
As a person who often re-posts inspirational quotes or memes that I like on my FB feed, it made me think.
I wonder if I am one of those people this person was talking about? 
Do I live the life that I portray through my re-posts?
If I am truly honest with myself, I would have to say that I don’t. Although it isn’t for lack of trying.
I hope one day to be the best person that I can be and by posting these things, it serves as a reminder and encouragement to me that I can do this.
When you stop to think about it, it really is quite judgmental to make comments like the one above isn’t it? After all, nobody knows the real reason that a person has posted or re-posted these things. Maybe it is because they know someone amongst their friends who might appreciate it. Maybe, it is because (like me) they are trying to change themselves.
Nobody is perfect even if a person likes to think that they have it all together.
I was a little upset at those words.
Of course there are people out there who never practice what they preach but there are many good people in the world today. People like me who are just trying to find their way in a confusing world. If we can be inspired by the words of others then surely that is a good thing.

What do you think of re-posting? I’m really interested to know.

And to add a little colour to this post. Following are a few of my re-posts from the past week on FB.
Photo   Photo

Photo
I had to share this one. This cat looks just like the Diva. 🙂

Photo: Some years ago I wrote a book called 10 Secrets for Success and Inner Peace so that my children would have a compilation of the ideas that formed the essential nucleus of my life’s teaching in one place. When I gave each of them a copy, I said, “If you ever wanted to know what was most essential to me, these are the ideas that I have attempted to live by, and these are the ideas that I employed in all of my parental interactions with you throughout your life.”</p><br /><br />
<p>My daughter Serena wanted to share her own story about how these 10 principles impacted her life, so we decided to write a book together about it. Serena chose the title, which was taken from one of the most profound teachings that I have applied in my own life: Don’t Die With Your Music Still in You. As I’ve told her very frequently, there would be no greater tragedy than if she came to the end of her life and had the realization that she didn’t fulfill her own destiny. </p><br /><br />
<p>“You came here with music to play,” I told all of my children. “You don’t want to ultimately realize that you didn’t fulfill your own dharma because you tried to please someone else’s mental picture of what you should be doing—and that includes me as your father as well.” In her book, Serena gives a multitude of great examples of what it was like to be raised in a family where she did not have to live up to her parents’ notion of what was best for her (or any of her siblings). </p><br /><br />
<p>Throughout her life, Serena has always been perplexed by the frequently asked question, “What was it like to have Wayne Dyer as your father?” With this book, she has done a masterful job of not only answering that question, but of also providing guidelines to readers for living the principles outlined in its pages. At the end of each of Serena’s chapters, I offer my own personal reaction to all that she has written. </p><br /><br />
<p>I couldn’t be more proud of Serena for taking on this mighty task of writing a book, and doing it with honesty and fearlessness. I know you will find it as informative and inspiring as I have. Here is a link where you can find out more about the book: http://www.hayhouse.com/dont-die-with-your-music-still-in-you
Photo: Makes sense to me. ~Cate  Photo
Photo: Words of wisdom on a happy Monday morning...

Have a blessed day. 🙂

 

40 thoughts on “Facebook judgements

  1. I think it’s like so many things…There are always politicians and ministers and generals, etc who get caught living less-than-inspirational lives. None of those things make their contributions less valuable to society. Maybe one day you felt vile and snapped at your loved one for no reason. On that same day, maybe you posted something uplifting. If I’m helped or inspired by your uplifting meme, then it matters not the faults of the person who posted it. In some respects, maybe the meme you posted is something you wish you’d known an hour earlier when you were feeling vile?
    My social media is composed largely of artists and/or addicts. Everyone is on a journey…
    But then, I know we are all human, and I expect humans to act like humans.

    Like

    1. I think that is the right way to view things Joey. We are all humans. I really couldn’t believe it when I read (or heard) that comment. It really was terribly judgmental.

      Like

  2. Nice perspective Sue!
    I re-blog what inspires me … a new way of looking at things … something to share that can inspire others.
    What you have shared is a judgment … and the Facebook version of gossip. Remember gossip is essentially about getting other people to buy into our story to make us feel better … at the expense of someone else. If we get others to agree, then it validates our own ego thinking and we feel our view is right.
    For me it comes down to intention. What is our intention in re-blogging?
    Is it to fill a void? Keep the numbers up? Because we don’t have time? … or is it something we value and feel others can appreciate and perhaps leaner from it.
    When we look to our heart we know.
    And that’s all that matters.
    Val x

    Like

    1. When we re-post on FB or re-blog, it is (for me) a way of sharing something I think is worthwhile knowing. I just felt a little hurt at the comment that I heard and wondered why someone felt the need to make that judgement.

      Like

  3. Those are some dandy photos. I completely understand where you are coming from. Frankly, I don’t like reblogging on WP and never have or ever will use FB. Too many issues. Good post!

    Like

    1. I love FB to keep up with what is going on in the lives of my countless younger relatives (e.g. children, nieces and nephews etc). I use it mainly to read and to pass on inspirational stuff. As to re-blogging on WP. It’s not something I often do myself.

      Like

  4. I think that we do our best to be the best version of ourselves every day and we do need to crawl before we can walk and run. To practice by inspirational quotes is one way to give ourselves a mental kick.
    Some people need to try to take others down to feel themselves better than others.
    I use quotes too to kick myself, we can’t stay on the top all the time.
    Important and good post Sue 🙂

    Like

  5. People who say that generally get reminded of the faults in their lives when they read inspirational quotes and feel that in order to make themselves feel like the have it all together they need to make others focus on their faults too and feel what they feel. Don’t know if that makes sense. “Hey you can’t always have your life in order let me just remind you how crap it is” that’s all it is. But you just got to keep at it Suz always aspire to inspire before you expire, blessed day to you

    Like

  6. I never understand why people would post their troubles and intimate details of their private lives on Facebook. It’s usually only ever done to gain attention and lots of (fake) sympathy. I’d much rather send positive messages out and hopefully add something joyful to someone’s day; if we wanted negativity, we could just listen to the news, so why not use our social media to bring some happiness? Keep reposing and sending out your lovely messages, they made me smile 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Elaine. I don’t understand using social media to complain too much either however I also read an article yesterday that stated social media is often used as a yardstick for measuring our lives against. Apparently when others write about how perfect their lives are, we feel inadequate. I guess you just can’t win these days.

      Like

  7. I just agree with you one hundred percent. It is not a direction or a proclamation we make when we write or repost inspirational words…it is a deep desire to STRIVE for those self same words to become reality in our own lives AND hopefully inspire others at the same time – we can see the truth and sense in it and it touches us – so we share the that with others – or the world in fact – as you have in this post. The more positive words we get moving around – the better! DON’T let that negativity bring you down lovely lady!

    Like

  8. You can’t go wrong re-posting cats Suz. As to the inspirational stuff people either take it on board or not. Do or should we practice what we preach, I’d like to think so. Don’t sweat it though the world has always had trolls in it, Facebook has just made it easier for them.

    Like

  9. I can totally relate to this. I’ve also seen someone post people who keep reposting motivational posts are crying out for attention. I also post them often. I do it because I believe in the words. I figure if they inspire me, they also inspire someone else. We are constantly changing in response to our feelings, interactions and circumstances. We may not always be the words we repost but we are always striving to be and that in itself is admirable. People will always knock and criticize an demean. It really makes me sick to see it and I do my best to try and ignore that type. I’ve realized if you don’t give them a reason to demean you in some way, they will find a reason on their own. Keep reposting girl! High five!

    Like

    1. Thanks 🙂
      Isn’t it sad? They mock if you post bad things (crying for attention). They mock if you post positive things (obviously putting on a show for everyone) and they mock if you try to be inspirational. I guess people must be so unhappy in their lives that they feel the need to bring others down as well.

      Like

  10. I don’t re-post. I write down my inspirations on sticky notes and hang them around my desk. My facebook posts–if I make any–go like this: So….Birkenstock’s are back in style? Did they ever go out of style? Silly fashion police. But then again, I really dislike Facebook.

    Like

  11. I rarely hit the share button and re-post anything on Facebook. It has to be something really good and worth reading and learning from to post. I do love inspirational quotes and if I re-post and share it, it is because I truly believe it and believe it would help others as well as me. There are so many silly, stupid things people post on Facebook that just take up needless space on your news feed, like stupid chain letters …ugh! Great post Suz!

    Like

    1. ahhh yes, the chain letters. I am lucky that the majority of my family and friends (amongst the photos they share) largely share funny and inspirational stuff. I always love a good laugh as well and FB has some beauties on there.

      Like

  12. I say post whatever you want Sue!!!! If it inspires you…encourages you or soothes you…post it! You never know when it might do the same for someone else!!

    Like

  13. Suz, I have to tell you about one of my seven sister-in-laws. She reposted a minimum of ten random sayings every single day and never actually wrote one word; not a single comment ever. The postings grew in numbers until one day she had almost fifty! They were totally random. There were two that really got me. In the mix was one of Jesus walking into a sunset while holding a little child’s hand. The caption was ‘He is always with you.’ Not bad, but it was immediately followed by one with a giant sex toy that had the caption ‘A girl’s best friend.’
    I posted a general announcement that I would be forced to unfriend anyone who sent me more than ten reposts per day. Guess what? My sister-in-law unfriended me!

    Like

  14. this really gripes me when people say this!!sorry buit it does.because who knows who your post will touch,save,make smile today.it will be seen,maybe not lived by but theyll all have seen it and somewhere in their brain it will be logged and perhaps used later.
    so why cant people try and post things that are usefuk.because i might be at my darkest moment doing silly unhealthy stuff with my life but surely then this gives me all the more reason to post.to give strength,to show there is inner need for goodness in me still.to moitivate.its telling others not your preaching that you know out of everybody how bad it can get and u dont want anyone to go through it.and know that you dont want people to feel as bad as yo might be.so i think it great you post good piccies.i think its great to see.i am uinsure of what youve been through in life,but by you posting the little snippets and qoates is brave,becasue your showing strength.and you know what bad days are like so why not push good ones out there.
    keep posting them i think they are lovely.
    *lots of this didnt make sense sorry.i new what i mean in my head but words would tranlate quite right.oops*

    Like

    1. They translated perfectly. Thank you.
      It is true that people are so quick to judge others these days and that is such a sad thing. I won’t stop posting the inspirational and fun things because as you said, you never know who it may help.
      I hope you do the same thing.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

      Like

  15. Personally they annoy me on facebook Sue, everybody telling me how to think, how to live, all moralising as if they are the new found Ghandi or Dalai Lama.
    If I want to read quotations all day I will buy a bloody quotation book.
    Also knowing personally some people behind the scenes on facebook, they certainly live a long way from the quotes they post.
    Regards
    Ian

    Like

    1. I guess I see your point. I am a reposter of inspirational stuff mainly because it resonates with me and reflects the kind of life I am doing my best to live,

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

