The Power of a Smile

I was just looking at my stats and once again this week, my most popular post was the one where I challenged everyone to smile.
Smiling is such a simple thing to do and it can change not only the way that your face looks but the whole of the world around you.
Nobody can walk past a smiling person without smiling back or feeling uplifted.
I took the following photo on my birthday.
We had just attended the Dance Mom’s High Tea and the Garden Gnome suggested I might like to visit the markets on the beach not far from where the high tea was.
As I was wandering the markets (with camera in hand) I came across this singing, smiling man. Stopping to listen for a short while, I motioned with my camera and a questioning look as to whether I could take a photo.
He smiled broadly and his smile lit his whole face.
I waited and I waited for people passing by to leave the background but I couldn’t shake the two gentleman paying attention to what I was doing so I snapped away anyway. I’m sure his smile must have been hurting his face by that point but it was certainly lighting up the surroundings. πŸ™‚

So I wish to share with you both a photo and a clip of Soulman O’Gaia who was gracious enough to bless me with both his smile and his music that day, and in doing so made my birthday that extra bit special.
047-copyNever underestimate the power of a smile.
It changes people’s days (and their lives). It lifts the soul and blesses those you bestow it upon.
It lights up your eyes and in doing so lights up your heart.

Smile and the world smiles with you….
Snore and you sleep alone (that last bit isn’t true though because the GG is still beside me eachΒ  morning lol).

24 thoughts on “The Power of a Smile

    1. He has other videos on youtube Stacy. I purchased one of his CDs and I must say that I really enjoy listening to it. But his smile… his smile lights up the whole area around him.

      Like

      1. Thanks for posting.

        This post is timely. It’s easy forget how easy I is to smile. I once read in a newspaper that researchers discovered that it took more than 2x the facial muscle for smiling to frown.

        It’s really easier to smile that to frown. Sometimes, we forget it while we head on with lives.

        By the way, you’ve just won me over. I’m now a fan of your blog.

        Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

