Improving your life one week at a time

Earlier this week I picked up my books again and began my studies once again. Due to the many happenings in my life this year, I am so far behind in my studies it is bordering on the ridiculous. However I am hoping to chip away steadily and get back on track as soon as possible.
As part of this decision, I began a goal setting exercise that is ongoing.
I outlined goals both short, mid and long term and I am now in the process of working out the steps to achieve those goals. It’s an ongoing process because I keep thinking of new things to add or to tweak.
However goals should be fluid and subject to change so I am not concerned about making these changes. The important thing is the setting of the initial goal.
As part of this life improvement, I have pulled out all my coaching books to read. There is a huge pile of them too, so I started with the thinnest one because it seemed to be the easiest step on this path I have undertaken.
The thinnest book is called “Life Makeovers” by Cheryl Richardson sets out 52 weekly exercises to improve your life. I figured why not? After all it certainly can’t hurt can it? So this is my first post. I hope to last the 52 weeks and not wane in enthusiasm but as events of recent weeks have shown, much can change in the matter of hours let alone days and months.

Cheryl advocates that the key to building a high quality life is by creating a high quality ‘you’. She quotes Lucille Ball who said “Love yourself first and everything else falls in line”.
We are not talking about narcissistic self love here but rather a healthy appreciation of self. An integral part of this is reflecting on the things you have done ‘right’ in the past year.
Have you strengthened your character?
Have you improved your communication skills?
Are you more honest with yourself?Do you volunteer your time and talents?
Have you helped out someone when they needed you?
Have you created special memories with your family?
Did you organise an event or gathering that brought people closer together?
Have you achieved something important in your working life?

There can be many things that you have achieved and accomplished over the past year if you take the time to think about it. Cheryl stresses that you can’t grow and move forward if you are beating yourself up over things real or imagined in your life. It’s about saying “Yes. I did accomplish something. I achieved what I didn’t think I could”.
Cheryl suggests keeping a journal whilst working through the book. I thought “Blog. Journal. Same thing really” and so this post is born!

So join me if you will on this journey as our first task is to list 25 things that we have accomplished over the past year that have grown us as a person or can be seen as positive in some way.
Now 25 is a lot of things to recall so she suggests keeping a list and adding to it as you think of things.
However I am going to start my list right now:

So here is the beginning of my list of achievements over the past year.

  1. I survived Christmas last year even with the massive amount of stress that I put upon myself. And my family ate well, enjoyed their gifts and everything turned out okay.
  2. I began studying
  3. I resigned from my job
  4. I put some of my sewing in the local show and won prizes for it
  5. I designed, sewed and completed a huge quilt for the Tween’s bed
  6. I sewed the layette that my granddaughter was laid to rest in
  7. I have been there for my family whenever they needed me
  8. I have learned that gratitude is an integral part of life
  9. I decluttered and sorted out my craft room
  10. I have learned more about my camera (even though I’ve had it for years) and am working at improving my photography
  11. I look for the beauty in each day

I’m not even halfway there but I’m sure with time I can think of more. These were the ones that came to mind first off.
Cheryl suggests in her book that if you find it difficult then break it down into your 5 most memorable accomplishments and 3 ways you’ve grown over the past year.

So this is part of my goal planning. Each week I am going to work through the book with you as I set about making my life the best it can be. Please feel free to tag along or join in withΒ  me.
I’ll be glad of the company.

46 thoughts on “Improving your life one week at a time

  1. How wonderful that you are so crafty, to be able to lay your grandchild to rest in a layette made by you. You have achieved an awful lot this year. Well done.

    Like

    1. Thank you Tric. Unfortunately it was from necessity as the organisation Angel Gowns for Angel Babies had sent something to us but Australia Post is not renowned for delivery express post items on time. When the parcel hadn’t arrived the day before the funeral I began googling patterns and pulled out my sewing machine.

      Like

  2. This should be interesting – I’ve never read that type of book before Sue.

    You contributions to family, both with personal crafts and emotional support.is exeplary Sue. That, to me, is what quality of life is all about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your condolences. It has been a difficult 3 weeks or so however we are moving through it.
      Right now I have my other three grandchildren sleeping on my lounge room floor as they are spending the weekend with us. They are excited about seeing their uncle (my son who lost the baby) today and swimming with him. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. This is a great idea. I am going to blog about it and reference your post! Great that you’re inspired to get going with your studies again! What are you studying btw?

    Like

  4. I like your plan.
    Your number 7 Suz… I am so sorry lovely lady… so much we all still do not know about each other and miss such important things.
    I can add more to this list Suzie Q – so much more. I dunno if I am allowed to do that or if you have to think of them? So – can I?

    Like

    1. Thanks for your thoughts and email B. I will answer it later. I have a busy day today so limited in my time on the computer.
      As to the list, I have only added those that I believe I have achieved. There are probably more but right now I haven’t thought of them. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Great accomplishments all round Sue, and a great idea of writing them down in blog form.
    You will have no worries in reaching your goal, as your mindset is on achievement.
    Regards
    Ian

    Like

  6. I’m in, but oh my. 25? I can think of a lot of ways I’ve grown, but the only accomplishment I can come up so far, is that I crawled my way out a pit of depression.

    Like

  7. You have accomplished so much! Good luck on your 52 week journey Sue, I am looking forward to reading your weekly posts on this πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you Amanda. And thanks for the follow as well. I hope you do it. I think it’s important for us to focus on the good points about ourselves rather than the negative all the time.

      Like

    1. Looking for the beauty in each day can be so hard sometimes. I wish I remembered to pull out my gratitude journal each day but I always forget to do that. I still have gratitude in my heart though.

      Like

  8. “Love yourself first and everything else falls in line. We are not talking about narcissistic self love here but rather a healthy appreciation of self. An integral part of this is reflecting on the things you have done β€˜right’ in the past year”. Exactly! I tell my patients all the time that they have to take care of self before they can continue to take care of everyone around them.
    Keep chipping away at your studies, keep up with your goals, and reminding yourself of all you have accomplished! Good for you, Suz

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have had my fair share of dealings with narcissists unfortunately Miss Laurie and so I do not advocate that type of self love. However a healthy respect for yourself and acknowledgement of your achievements is quite within reason.
      Thanks for your input and your encouragement. πŸ™‚

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

