Getting into the Christmas spirit

It’s hard to escape the fact that Christmas is almost upon us. It is screamed from television, radio, social media and almost any other news or information source.
Over the past couple of days I’ve been searching out my Christmas music. My family don’t share my passion for Christmas music unfortunately so the playing of it is largely restricted to my computer, iPad or the stereo when I am here on my own.
In the past week I have found some wonderful examples of beautiful music that I wish to share with you.
The first one I found was this one of a young teenager from Quebec who sounds remarkably like the King of Rock and Roll. I listened to this with my eyes closed and found the resemblance uncanny.

I have heard the Acapella version of The Little Drummer by Pentatonix and whilst I enjoyed it, the beatboxing (which I find incredible) detracted from this wonderful song. However, if you haven’t heard then click on the link and check it out.
Then this version of Angels We Have Heard on High by Home Free found it’s way into my Facebook feed. I was blown away by this and so I searched for other songs by Home Free and found a clip of them singing my most favourite Christmas song of all time.

Right now as I type this post I am listening to a Christmas mix that I downloaded last year featuring songs from Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and many of the other crooners. Nothing fills my soul like music.
Today I am spending time cleaning and getting the house in some semblance of order because:
005(Excuse the blurred shot. I should shoot on auto when I don’t have my tripod but I was in a hurry and even with the flash it isn’t the best photo lol).

At this time of year, I get so stressed about everything that needs to be done but this year have the added stress of watching our pennies. Nobody has missed out on the present front and the kids will still be spoiled but there are restrictions. We count our blessings that although we are cutting costs, the situation isn’t as dire for us as it is for many others at this time of the year.

Okay, Dean is telling me that I better not pout because Santa Claus is coming to town. I’d better get off this computer and get moving.

So as I listen to Christmas music and clean my home, I am counting my blessings.
I wish the same peace and blessings to you all.

 

23 thoughts on “Getting into the Christmas spirit

    1. I’m sorry that Christmas is a sad time for you Laurie. My son and daughter in law are also struggling right now so I understand how it can be a hard time for others.
      Thanks for your encouragement and support (as always). It’s headed right back to you as well.

      Like

      1. I lost the enjoyment of xmas when I first started working in prison for some reason. Then it became worse in the police. Sad really. As the season draws closer it gets worse. I think there’s this aura of, everyone must be happy, it’s xmas. Of course many fail thee happiness test. keep those carols coming. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Quite amazing that the name David Thibault has made it all the way “down under”…..even had the Francophone announcer before and after the song. 🙂 He really does sound like Elvis. 🙂

    Wishing you a great Christmas season Suzanne. Always so important to live within our means, particularly with the added expenses this time of year. Admire you for cutting costs. May everyone realize your love does not change.

    Blessings,

    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is a sadness to Christmas as well but memories of it are mostly happy. I love Christmas music and lights and the idea of a sweet baby born in a manger. Lovely music and thoughts Suz- I’m very fond of traditional and somewhat classical like Il Divo singing Oh Holy Night. But mixed with a few pop tunes is fun as well. I’ve put a few of my obscure favourites on my blog too. “Bells of Dublin, “Loreena Mckennit and the Christmas Pachelbel etc and their are some lovely French ones. Amazing rendition by Quebecois Elvis, Thibeault!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Il Divo are divine Cybele so I am inclined to agree with your choice. 🙂 We played Il Divo singing Amazing Grace at baby Suzanne’s funeral.
      I’ve never heard of some of those other songs you’ve mentioned. When I get to that post, I’ll be sure to listen to them. 🙂

      Like

  3. My Christmas shopping g has been curtailed by illness. I’ve been cooped up I doors this week feeling decidedly horrid. I’m going to have to get a move on. Im not a fan of Christmas or Christmas music but I do have some nice French Christmas songs on my iPod. Somehow, in French I don’t mind them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, I’m going to embarrass myself and admit that I’ve been known to sing Christmas carols at other times of the year. Good King Wenseles and O Come all Ye Faithful were favourites from a school concert I did way back in ancient times. They stuck in my head. I am a shocker for remembering lyrics and having heard these so many times, they are easier to sing than other songs for me. That fellow from Canada has an amazing voice. I didn’t expect those sounds to come from his mouth! I’m very much affected by music so I have to choose what I listen to carefully. Sad songs tend to make me blue. Happy songs inspire me. Loud “noisy” music tends to make me aggravated. Music influences me a great deal. Enjoy the Christmas build up and have a great new year. Thanks for sharing the music with us! 🙂

    Like

  5. Add some Andy Williams to the collection of Dean, Bing, and Frank. Love, love those guys!
    Music is such a big part of the season. One of my favorite parts of the holiday is time in the kitchen, baking and cooking, with all kinds of Christmas music in the back ground.

    Like

    1. I let the Teen pick some Christmas music yesterday after I found that the CD player wouldn’t play some of my CDs. She plugged in her iPad and chose her own playlist. Funny how different our tastes are. Hers was filled with Mariah Carey et al and she skipped over the traditional stuff (although I did see her pirouetting to The Nutcracker). 🙂

      Like

  6. Thanks for this. I am blessed annually to the point of happy tears with all the beautiful Christmas music, but especially the Swedish songs my father loved. I have been so blessed with so many wonderful Christmases – family, gifts, church, spiritual magic. I still count the years from Christmas to Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

