Appreciating Beauty

Right now I can’t help believing that the world is an ugly place. Okay, maybe not the whole world, but certainly many of the people within it.
As I sat at the computer this morning, I asked myself “What do you find beautiful”?
The answer was flowers.
I love them.
I enjoy buying bunches of flowers to put in a vase on my dining room table to remind me that there is beauty in the world.
I look outside my window and smile at the happy yellow daisies that seem to flower year round and the roses that are now blooming wonderfully after the recent rain. And my heart rejoices that amidst the human misery and suffering, nature is still perfect and beautiful.

So in my post today, I wish to share some beauty with you also. These are some of the hundreds of flower photos that I have taken over the past 6 months.
I have taken them into Photoshop and played with them by adding filters and running actions. I am a fan of free actions because right now with my current circumstances free is good. 🙂
Some of these actions don’t work properly on my old version of PS but I make do. I discard many results but keep on playing until I find something I am happy with. I found that whilst a particular action worked wonderfully on one photo, it didn’t suit another. It really was a case of experimenting.

It has been several weeks since I have played with photos (because it isn’t a chore so it must be playing). I spent a lovely hour or so doing this and now I will share my results with you.
I am going to send out some beauty into the world in order to remind us that although there is much that is ugly out there, there is still so much beauty.
And for that I am grateful.

 

49 thoughts on “Appreciating Beauty

  1. I also take solace in the beauty of nature when I am feeling disillusioned with the nastiness in the world. These photos are gorgeous, Sue. Thank you for sharing them! I hope you are feeling better? x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh Jane, I am working on getting back into routine and normality once again. lol
      Thank you for your lovely words. I know that when I am feeling particularly horrid, a drive out toward the mountains usually calms me. There is something about the paddocks, livestock, trees, water and mountains that clears the head.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t you just love your graphic program? I have PaintShop Pro. I’ve lost the updates to the program because of changing from one update to another for Windows many times, but I still use the basic program all the time. I especially like the photo you have of the Easter lily. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Glynis. I tried to use PaintShop Pro once (a trial version) and couldn’t get my head around it. I love Photoshop. One day I hope to be able to afford an upgrade but right now it is out of the question. I want to get LightRoom as well but it is also a future wish. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing your beautiful flowers. There is a lot of ugliness in the world, but my opinion is that we hear the horrible things that people do to each other, or of natural disasters—then it is repeated over and over. We continue to live the sadness and frustration. It is nice to take time out to just think of the beauty.

    Like

  4. Certainly brightened up my depressive world Sue.
    Thanks for sharing those beautiful flowers, they take ones mind of the continuous invasion of ugliness in our lives.
    Ian

    Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

