Tuesday Quote

Don’t you just love how words come from somewhere and they are exactly what you need at the time?
I know that I’ve blogged about this phenomenon before but it’s happened again! How cool is that?

So here I was last Friday, feeling blah but not really being able to pinpoint exactly why. I was certainly a little perplexed by it all.
Things hadn’t exactly been all ‘peachy-keen’ and ‘hunky-dory’ over the preceding days but certainly not enough to drag me down that’s for sure.
I wasn’t entirely certain whether I was going into battle with those wonderful female things called ‘hormones’ or whether my little black dog was nipping my heels.
I wrote in my journal:

I am feeling restless this morning and there is a slight feeling of anxiety. I am not sure why. It could be that it is the end of the week. It could be not sleeping well since waking in the early hours to the sound of thunder and then sleeping fitfully after that. I had a strange dream that was slightly unsettling……. I must check our account and pay some bills. The thought of doing that fills me with dread. (The Garden Gnome) has heard nothing about working anywhere…….

And the words tumbled forth. None are uplifting. All are negative and fearful. I wrote about my fears for the future and my fear of failure and finished by saying:

I have to prove to my own doubts that I am more than capable. What I should do is move – be more active. Active in studying. Active in promoting myself…..

I walked out of the room after I had finished my journal and was met by the Garden Gnome. He looked at me and said “What’s wrong”? My eyes filled with tears as I replied “I wish I knew”.

It was then that I went to turn on my computer to download the emails (I’m now up to the 18th of February with my blog reading). I tore the page from my desk calendar to the quote for today and found this quote.

https://d5w4uv416ie49.cloudfront.net/quip_images/d6/71/d0545b004119811bc40c519c6dcf48e9ddf5.jpg

It screamed at me “Get active girl”.
And so I wrote a Facebook post about my study, reaching out to friends for some assistance. I sent an email to someone that I had spoken with last year about a business opportunity and I began to shake off the mantle that was hanging over me.
I realised that waiting for things to get better wasn’t going to work. I had to go out and start making things work.
I’m still scared of things but there is no point in waiting for some future point when the future grows shorter by the day.

So tell me, have you had a defining moment in your day at any point in your life?

16 thoughts on “Tuesday Quote

  1. Wow, good for you! Sounds like your moving on to a good place.

    A defining moment for me was almost 11 years ago, when I was so completely beaten down by teaching full time that I was coming home in tears many days. One night I’d gone to bed and my husband came upstairs waving a piece of paper he’d just printed from an email we’d just gotten from church. “This is for you!” he said joyfully. It was a all-congregational email announcing a search for a director of children’s ministry for our congregation; a new position. All the requirements fit me exactly. I knew immediately he was right; in my mind the job was mine from that moment on. And that’s how it turned out. Eleven years later here I am, still in the same job and loving it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great quote. I had to read it a couple of times. Defining moments? Guess what my first reaction was? It was a negative defining moment. Looks like I’ll be taking some action as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My moment is getting up in a morning knowing the black dog has lost again. I hope yo conquer your dog and get him under control Sue. You have a knack for being positive when you know it’s needed. I know you can win.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes. Years ago when we listed a home, my husband was off at military training and I was at home with two kids and two toddlers, and I was so completely overwhelmed when the realtor gave me a list of to-dos. I welled-up. He said, “Thinking about all the things is much worse than actually doing them.” He inspired me so. I’ll never forget that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That reminds me of a conversation I had with my mentor the other night. He asked me “How do you eat an elephant”? Of course the answer is “One bite at a time”. 🙂
      Isn’t it amazing the things in life that we recall with inspiration and fondness. This is a great one Joey.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Fantastic quote to share, Sue. I love it. I can certainly relate to your feelings. I am in the process of trying to get myself to start doing all those things I keep saying I want to do. My blog was the first step. I’ve been wanting to do that for years but was too scared. Now I am also looking at some kind of personal business venture but as usual it feels rather daunting and can be hard to take those first few steps. But tiny steps are better than no steps and bring you closer to the goal. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Small steps forward are better than no steps at all. And I learned today that even when we fail, it means that we at least attempted something! 🙂
      Good luck with your business venture.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. My black dog is well behind me now, I age each day and have so much more to accomplish, I am racing against time and can’t afford the luxury of putting of today what I want to do tomorrow.
    The clock ticks faster every second Sue, no time for hesitation or self doubt.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

