Through my Lens – My garden

Okay, the last week has been difficult for me as I have battled a combination of hormones and circumstances that have pulled me down and covered my mind in that grey veil that obscures all the good stuff.
The hard part is (and I journalled about it this morning) is that my mind is at war. There are two parts of it – the part that is saying “This too shall pass” and the other part that over-exaggerates every little word and thought until I feel like I am going to collapse under the weight of it all.
Long story short, I feel a little better now after I spent time out in the garden this morning with my camera in my hand.

The Garden Gnome called out to me and said “The big caterpillar is on the move”. This gave me hope that birds hadn’t been picking off the other caterpillars. So with camera and macro lens in hand, outside I went.

I watched the little fellow get to the base of the tree and drop off the lip of the pot that it is planted in. Once on the ground he moved pretty quickly so I lay on the grass beside him to follow his progress.
006This is him crossing the front path before making his way onto the grass. I must have taken about 80 shots and salvaged about 5 out of the lot as he moved pretty quickly.
035I lost track of him once he got under the trampoline and I didn’t really want to embarrass myself by crawling under and following him. The next door neighbour is out working on his car and caravan and believe me when I tell you that an overweight, middle-aged woman wearing a tie-dyed dress and laying on the front lawn with a camera is not for the faint hearted. I thought I would spare him the pain and rather (in)elegantly arose.

It was then I decided that I would wander around the garden and take some macro shots of whatever I could find.
First up was the roses. Since the recent rains, the roses have been flowering wonderfully. This is actually a Blue Moon rose (a cross between pink and mauve).
053I love the depth of colour created by the shadows of the trees beside it.
There isn’t much in the back garden but the shade house has some pretty flowers and lots of wind chimes hanging from the rafters. I say we need more wind chimes, but the Garden Gnome begs to differ.
This is one that the Teen made as part of a school project many years ago.
(Made from beads and butterflies)
059The Garden Gnome called me away to check out the cucumbers he had planted a few weeks ago in our side garden. There are lots of flowers but no signs of cucumbers at all yet.
This pretty flower belongs to some sort of herb that keeps coming up. The previous owners must have planted it and it just keeps growing. When you crush the leaves, is smells of curry or some other spice. Just inhaling it was making me hungry.
064Our Paw Paw (papaya) tree has about 20 fruits on it right now. The Garden Gnome tells me that they are taking their time to ripen. The lime tree is laden with fruit as well.
I guess that’s a sign that I should start my juicing again.

I’ve had a lovely time out in the sun and laying on the grass. It filled me with peace and the grey veil seemed to lift a little. Just playing with my camera and then editing the photos afterwards also helped.
Life is good. I keep telling myself that and hopefully my mind might just catch on.

Oh Mum, this next photo is for you. The petunias really haven’t taken off that well unfortunately but we hold out hope.
072I’ll put the other photos into a little gallery for everyone.

Have a great weekend all.

47 thoughts on “Through my Lens – My garden

  1. Just get your mind working in other ways and your troubles fade away for awhile! I can just picture you crawling around in the yard with the neighbor watching! Lol! You probably made his day suz! Wonderful wonderful pictures. ~Elle

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Beautiful beautiful photos, Sue. The little green nubs on the herb look like tiny pierced hearts. 🙂
    I do believe creativity is the key to escaping from the blues, even if it’s a little. And day by day, a little becomes a lot. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how you turn a negative into a positive – that rose photo is beyond belief Sue… I am so grateful you decided to go out into the garden to take that… it is beautiful, simplistic but in that it brings me a lot of joy just to look at it… could be a book cover is what I thought at first glance. THANK YOU 🙂

    BTW I’m sending a box of lovely green caterpillars to you so you can photograph to your hearts contect.. just wondering what to put in the description part of the form hmmm??? xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope this phase soon passes Suz and I think it will if you keep crawling around taking wonderful shots like these.Have you any idea what the caterpillar will become? He already looks quite stupendous. You’e an excellent photographer.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do believe that these caterpillars becoming a black/brown butterfly with white spots. At least I think they do because that is the type that hangs around the tree.
      Thanks for the compliments on the photos David. They are very much appreciated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t know why it is but I love caterpillars. They’re bugs, so why should I like them? I like the colors, how they swirl around their little bodies. I marvel at the length of their antennas. And they do turn into moths and butterflies. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This one turns into a black/brown butterfly with white spots on its wings. Funny how there is orange and black on the caterpillar and yet no orange on the butterfly though.

      Like

    1. Handling the depression is a constant battle Mona and sometimes it wins and sometimes I do. I think the fact that I also have ‘the change’ going on doesn’t help much. lol
      Thanks for your nice words.

      Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

