Monday Musings

I am going to attempt to schedule some blog posts again since my life remains chaotic to some degree. When it is not chaotic, I am tired. When I am tired, I lay on the couch with my iPad and play mindless games before having an early night.
Either that, or I spend the time working on work stuff.
It’s one of those things, that when something occurs in life, priorities often need to be changed.
Unfortunately my blogging has been one of those things.
This is sad, because I really love my blog and the interactions that I have with all of you. So I am doing my best in keeping in touch even though it may be sporadic.
My job is still going well. I enjoy it and the interactions I have with seniors each day. They make me laugh. I enjoy their stories and reminisces and I respect them for the contributions they have made to society and their families.
Sadly, not every story that I hear is happy however I do my best to make the time these elderly people spend with us each day something that they enjoy.
Right now, I am in the process of putting together the program for June. This includes outings and in-centre activities. It’s a challenge for sure.
As I write this, I am nearing the end of another Mother’s Day. My family have once again made me feel loved with the Garden Gnome gifting me with a case (not a brief case but something similar) that I can use for work and carrying things in. Inside were two Cherry Ripes. yummo
The Teen gifted me with a multitude of handmade cards filled with photos of my children through the years (one for each child) and a HUGE box of Roses chocolate and the Son and DIL gifted me with a 5:2 diet recipe book and a potted chrysanthemum. The First Born called me and wished me lots of love.
I am so abundantly blessed that it is incredible.

Last weekend was very wet in our part of the world with a bit of localised flooding. Some areas copped it worse than others. We were spared (due to living on the side of a hill) however areas around us were waterlogged. On the Saturday morning, the Garden Gnome and I went out driving to the regular places that ‘go under’ to see the damage. Most of it had already receded however we witnessed people out on properties mending fences and saw debris on roads.
Later that day, we went out driving however we were unable to return home the way that we wished due to the main road still being cut. We parked to take a couple of photos and then saw some idiots in cars crossing the flood waters. The message of “If it’s flooded, forget it” obviously mustn’t apply to everyone (or so they think). Seriously, there were lives lost by people who ignored warnings and signs and attempted to drive through flood waters over the preceding days yet they still continue to brave the water.
061The road is under the water on the far left side of the photo. This flooding extended another couple of miles up the road to the right and then off to the left a couple of miles before it flowed into the dam. It sure looks pretty but I’m sure the local farmers and property owners weren’t thrilled with it.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about things over the past week. I still wish to write a book but the ideas keep evolving. Right now, I am thinking of what I have learned over the past couple of years and considering entitling my book “5 Attributes of Attaining Peace Within”.
It will include the following:

  • Looking for the beauty in life
  • Gratitude
  • Find the good in any situation
  • Meditation and stilling your mind
  • Kindness to others

Of course I might find other things and change the title but it’s an idea right now.

At the moment, my life is all about work, sleeping and finding time to study. When I’m not doing any of those things, my mind is jumping all over the place. I still take the time each day to write in my gratitude journal and my journal/diary and attempt to still my mind.
I still write lists of things that I need to accomplish.
I still attempt to write an uplifting FB post each day on my personal page.
I still stop and send out thanks to the universe for many things.

So life is still pretty good.
I hope yours is too.

27 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Good morning, yeah?
    You’re right, that picture is beautiful, and in that way, a bit deceptive about what its beauty hides.
    I think your book ideas are the building blocks for a positive life, but then, you’re one of the most inspiring optimists I read.
    I hope this day is kind to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad that life is OK and that you had a fantastic Mother’s Day. I know you will blog when you have the time and energy to do so. I also realise that you’re going to be tired after working so maybe blogging won’t be the first thin on your mind. Just do it when you get the chance and we’ll be here waiting as usual.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have a busy life Suz. I’ll have a cup of coffee and a moment of silence to honor your full schedule. Cheers! Ha! Sounds like you are getting to do some interesting stuff. Working with seniors must be very satisfying. I hope all goes well for you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are living such a busy life right now, and, from what you have said here on your blog, you’ve thought you can handle more that what’s possible. I used to do that all the time. I finally learned to under-schedule myself so the anxiety isn’t as likely to do me in.

    Yes, prioritizing are necessary. Suzanne, please slow down a little and give yourself a little more time for each task. If the blog is farther down your list, that’s okay. I know, as one of your readers, that you will be back — probably after your courses are done. Don’t worry. I will still be here when you return. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many hugs to you Glynis xxxx
      I thank you so much for your support and good wishes. I trust that all is well in your life and that your writing is rolling along well,

      Like

  5. The photograph was gorgeous and your children’s Mother’s Day gifts were so unique and wonderful. Flowers, chocolate and homemade cards, calls from far away and a drive to see an incredible beauty of a spot. You are blessed, so glad you had a great Mother’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your job working with the elderly brings much joy and comfort into their lives. It is hard at the end of a busy day to have the mental energy to write creatively. Things that may seem like worthless entertainment such as games still serve a good purpose if they help you relax and unwind. So don’t feel guilty about time spent “chilling out” as my kids say. 🙂 You are doing an awesome job with what you already do in your life. I hope that book comes together one day. I’ve sort of been planning a book, but it can be hard to make decisions about the direction. Like you, I feel it is evolving. It changes over time. I have a few different ideas and think perhaps they should be a few separate books… At some point I hope to finish one! Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Checking in on you Sue to see how all is going, Mothers day was a great day by the sound of it, what a thoughtful Garden Gnome you have, a couple of Cherry ripes.
    Seems the message doesn’t get through to the rednecks in Australia, if it’s flooded, don’t cross.
    We lose so many people each year who tempt fate.
    Keep plodding along Sue, you have everything under control.
    Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Gotta love the idiots right. It makes me so mad to see this. I think the emergency services should start charging for swift water rescues caused by drivers who ignored warning signs.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

