V is for Values

What is a value?

value
ˈvaljuː/
noun
plural noun: values
  1. 1.
    the regard that something is held to deserve; the importance, worth, or usefulness of something.
    “your support is of great value”
    synonyms: merit, worth, usefulness, use, utility, practicality, advantage, desirability, benefit, gain, profit, good, service, help, helpfulness, assistance, effectiveness, efficacy, avail, importance, significance, point, sense; More

    informalmileage
    “the value of adequate preparation cannot be understated
  2. .
    principles or standards of behaviour; one’s judgement of what is important in life.
    “they internalize their parents’ rules and values”
    synonyms: principles, moral principles, ethics, moral code, morals, moral values, standards, moral standards, code of behaviour, rules of conduct, standards of behaviour

Our values are held in high regard. They are what we base our lives upon. Our values influence every decision and choice that we make.
Our values may have been instilled in us from a young age and learned over time such as respect for our elders. Or our faith in whatever we wish to believe in.
But every person has them.
And each person is different.
What may of value to one person may be vastly different to that of another.
However if we remain true to our values we remain true to ourselves.
Our values are our core beliefs and philosophies that underpin how we feel about ourselves and others. They underpin how we view the role of certain things within our lives.
Values can be learned.
As we go through life, we are often influenced by the words, teaching and values of others. We admire or despise them. This in turn forms our beliefs about certain things.
Take some time out today to pinpoint what your values and beliefs are and whether you are happy with them.
Do you believe some of your values should be changed? Why?
Ask yourself if what you believe makes you truly happy.
Make a list of what you believe and evaluate the list.
Can you break down the list into the ten most important values in your life?
Can you narrow it down to five?
What about the most important value to you?

Sometimes in life, we need to re-evaluate our priorities and values in order to find happiness, joy, peace and contentment with who we are and where we are at this time in our lives.
The great thing about values and beliefs is that they can change if we need them to.

The most wonderful thing of all is that we have within us the potential for unlimited happiness. We just have to believe that we do.

 

20 thoughts on “V is for Values

  1. We never had conversations about values in my family, but my parents clearly lived by a code of integrity, fiscal prudence and responsibility. I railed against it sometimes as a child, but boy did I appreciate it as I made my adult choices.

    Like

        1. Ha ha. Actually I still remember clearly the day the First Born rang me and thanked me for everything. It takes the clarity of age (and motherhood) sometimes for things to sink in.

          Like

  2. I was just thinking right before I read this that we also have strong customs about age, and that at my age (36), I shouldn’t be wanting to travel and galavant around the planet like I do. But that’s nonsense, really. Thankfully we live in a free society that I can do anything I want. I so value freedom! Thanks for this great reminder. 🙂

    Like

      1. I hope so, because the amount of times I’ve voted should put me right about at “just old enough”!! I’m a pessimist when it comes to politicians and their ability to make change…;)

        Like

Don't be shy... Share your thoughts :)

